need a good 8+ port SOHO switch

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by johnnywallywallace, Feb 28, 2004.

  1. RobsMob

    RobsMob Guest

    Linksys?
     
  2. no linksys plz :fawk:

    I want something beefier. a managed switch would be nice, but any 10/100 with uplink/autosense and at least 8 ports would do me ... as long as it's not a linksys/netgear/etc. I want something a little more office and a little less home.
     
  3. Balzz

    Balzz N54 Elitist OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2000
    Messages:
    22,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cisco Catalyst 2940.
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I use 3Com stuff for switches. Never failed me.
     
  5. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :naughty:
     
  6. I'm actually looking at some used 1900s if nothing else ... 10mbps for the xbox, ps2, work laptop (vpn) etc. etc.
     
  7. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    eBay should have some good deals on 1900s..
     
  8. Balzz

    Balzz N54 Elitist OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2000
    Messages:
    22,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or you could just throw your money away. :dunno:
     
  9. For $20-$25?
     
  10. Balzz

    Balzz N54 Elitist OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2000
    Messages:
    22,467
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  11. but for $20-$25 I'm willing to compromise if it brings something with IOS to play with ...
     
  12. Balzz

    Balzz N54 Elitist OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2000
    Messages:
    22,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    IOS on a 1900? :ugh:

    You shouldn't have said you wanted something beefy then. The 1900s were crap even when they were new.
     
  13. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :hs: Good to learn on though.. especially for teh n00bs. (JW - not calling you a n00b)
     
  14. ahh but I _am_ a n00b when it comes to the lower layers ;)
     
  15. Balzz

    Balzz N54 Elitist OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2000
    Messages:
    22,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not really. 1900 is menu driven unlike any current switch...with no features like QoS, multicast, security, etc. So if someone were to take the time to learn the 1900, well, congratulations, that's all you've learned to do.
     
  16. ok, scratch the 1900.
     
  17. so what CAN I buy that would be a better learning experience, provide reasonable performance, and not empty my wallet?
     
  18. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,801
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    For unmanaged you can get a brand new Dell 16port switch on Ebay for $60.


    I'm still working on finding a sub-$100 8 to 16 port Gigabit switch :hsd:
     
  19. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    This is true. Good point.
     
  20. this guy I know through school tells me the 1900 menu can be exited from, that it has CLI available ... ?
     
  21. hiya phil long time no chat

    see something to learn on > something that's plug and play ...

    managed > unmanaged

    don't need gigabit, could be happy with a couple backbone/uplink ports available at 100, but most of the 8-24 ports being 10 would be fine ...

    <$100 would be key ... used in good condition is fine ...
     
  22. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,801
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    Well yes, but "<$100" and "managed" don't normally go together, unless it's off the back of a truck :o


    I'm just pissed that I bought 2 16 port 10/100 from Dell for $55 and the next week they brought out the 16 port 10/100/1000 :mad:
     
  23. doh!

    see, like I said, I'm fine with gently used ...

    and if I reallly have to, I'll wait until I can hit the 150-200 level ...

    I need the switching capacity, but it also needs to be a learning capacity.
     
  24. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I have an Allied Telesyn AT-8124XL you can buy for $80 + ship.

    Layer 2, managed with telnet and web based interface, 24 10/100 mbit ports.
     

Share This Page