A&P Need a camera...

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by cyc1120, Feb 26, 2007.

  1. cyc1120

    cyc1120 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I need to find myself a camera that uses AA battery and uses SD card. My friend recommends Canon to me. The only series of Canon cameras that respects my requirements are the A series. However, those cameras can only take around 90 shots wiht 2 AA batteries (which i find not enought).

    Can anyone recommend any other brand of cameras that are good and can satisfy my requirements? :x:

    Thanks
     
  2. 19Godfather86

    19Godfather86 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    You left out some pretty important details. Like how much you want to spend, and what are your 'requirements'?
     
  3. cyc1120

    cyc1120 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, I just need a pretty standard camera of about 200$.
    The only requirements are:
    1) uses AA battery
    2) uses a SD card... or any card that I can buy an adapter for and use it as an usb key
     
  4. Dan-blackline

    Dan-blackline Registered Sex Offender

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colchester, UK
    Fuji camera's use an XD card and are pretty good quality and run on AA. I'm not sure if XD cards can use the adapter thing or not though.
     
  5. cyc1120

    cyc1120 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool, I just checked on ebay, adapters for XD cards exist. I'll check Fuji cameras out then.

    Thanks
     
  6. crazykid

    crazykid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Canon S2IS... or S3... done.
     
  7. hsubaru

    hsubaru New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not done. Doesn't use AAs. (I'll just assume this and not check my facts. :runs away: )
     
  8. 19Godfather86

    19Godfather86 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Canon A700 and A710 do like, 350 shots with a pair of AA batteries. The A700 would be dirt cheap, has 6x optical zoom, 6mp and has a longer battery life than the A710. The A710 has image stabilization and an extra megapixel, and is still at most 300 or 400 dollars.

    And if you don't mind going a little biger the S3 IS is apparently super cheap. Like, 350 bucks. It uses 4 AAs, which is still not bad.
     
  9. cyc1120

    cyc1120 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have checked the Canon A700 before and came to this site:
    http://www.steves-digicams.com/2006_reviews/a700.html
    It says that it can take around 100 pictures with 2 AA batteries. Do you know what is the standard measure of # of shots/battery? I mean, do they take 100 pics with flash or what?

    Thanks
     
  10. nicklk

    nicklk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    23,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
  11. NSX

    NSX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8,942
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    none yo'
    My canon A710 uses AA batteries and an SD memory card. I use rechargeable NiMH batteries that fully charges in like 15 minutes (sold at Target or WalMart) and I get WAY more than 90 shots with them each time. Try it.
     
  12. 19Godfather86

    19Godfather86 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that's quoting the supplied alkaline batteries. If you get NiMH rechargeables I guarantee you'll get more that 100 shots.
     
  13. cyc1120

    cyc1120 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you like the camera in the general?
     
  14. yonson

    yonson OT sux... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    26,630
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Motor City...
    I have a little Casio Ex-Z110 that uses SD and 2 AA's I've been really happy with it as a P&S.
     
  15. silverceli2k

    silverceli2k I

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    3,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL.
    why the fuck do you want one that uses AA's?
     
  16. cyc1120

    cyc1120 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because I will be backpacking around for the summer and I probably won't be in places where I will be able to recharge the batteries everyday. Therefore, it would be more convenient if I can just bring along a few extra packs of AA batteries.
     
  17. Toadster

    Toadster have you SHARTEEZED today?

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    43,708
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    ...fresh from the Toadstool.
  18. brasheye

    brasheye Rotary Crew

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    6,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney - AU
    Pentax *istDS and *istDL
     
  19. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
  20. Toadster

    Toadster have you SHARTEEZED today?

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    43,708
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    ...fresh from the Toadstool.
  21. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
  22. silversleeper

    silversleeper New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can buy my gently used Canon S3IS... I'll give you whatever I've got with it as well (NIMH rechargeables (2700mah), original box, 1GB SD card, all included cables, etc)
     

Share This Page