NAS box that plays nice with OS-X?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by quid, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. quid

    quid I Piss Excellence OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    california
    do any of you guys have a NAS box plugged in?

    i have two 2-bay rosewill boxes with a total of 3 1tb and 1 500gb drives. two of the tb drives are concatenated for a 2tb time machine drive. Id like to toss these into a raid NAS but am apprehensive because of compatibility.

    more than 2-bays is very welcome too...

    :wavey:
     
  2. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
  3. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    i have a Drobo.
    4 drives, 2x1TB and 2x750GB
    seriously, it's the best thing ever. plug the drives in and forget about them. the drobo deals with redundancy, drive health, etc. it goes to sleep when not in use, and pops back on when you need it. it's fast enough to stream HD video. when a drive gets full, it tells you and you just pop out the old one and put the new one back in. etc etc.

    it was expensive, but definitely worth the money.

    i wonder how much ass it would kick if it had 4 SSD's in there.
     
  4. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
  5. The1Ash10

    The1Ash10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    + 1 for drobo
     
  6. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    just bear in mind - you get what you pay for. I didn't want to
    have to think about the various raid configs, so I went with the drobo "beyondraid" thing. i like being nerdy and managing stuff, but some things you just want to set and forget
     
  7. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just have a my book world edition, works just fine.
     
  8. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    I'd never trust anything from Iomega. Ever since ZIP they've made shit products. Their hard drives see a very high failure rate. Back in the ZIP Drive days they were replacing so many disks under warranty that they couldn't even count them, they'd weigh them by the pallet instead.
     
  9. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    you can use different harddrives... (user swappable)
    I wish they sold the NAS without drives...
     
  10. nicroma

    nicroma OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    11,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    I have a Lacie 2big that I haven't had any issues with. If I was going to buy another NAS today it would be a Drobo.
     
  11. quid

    quid I Piss Excellence OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    california
    can it do any tricky shit like full blown NASs can. like be an FTP server, set various folder permissions etc. or is it just a drive plugged up to your network?

    Seagate makes something like that too.

    I dont really want to go that route yet because I already have drives. At this point I'd really rather just buy a raid box and use my current drives.
     
  12. quid

    quid I Piss Excellence OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    california
    a MAJOR reason that I am thinking about this is my Rosewill boxes put the drives to sleep but then the computer hangs when they spin up the drives which is monstrously irritating.

    Does the drobo hang like that?
     
  13. quid

    quid I Piss Excellence OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    california
  14. MR Yasir

    MR Yasir New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL
    I might get some crap for this but I've been using an HP WHS box for a few months now and it's been perfect for me. I'm not sure if it's the solution you want or were even looking for but I just set it up once and never had to think about it again.
     

Share This Page