n00b questions inside v.Ireadthestickiesandstillhave?'s

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by Fartmaster, Jun 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fartmaster

Fartmaster Scamming the scammers FTW

Background:
    I've lost 40 pounds since 2/2005 due to cardio 3-4X per week and watching my calorie intake. I'm now hovering around 202-205 lbs. I joined a gym, and part of the package deal is I work with a trainer a couple of times to get going on weight training. I have no prior workout experience.

PT only taught me how to do leg presses and how to operate 3 upper body machines, and wants me to do ONLY those machines until our next meeting in 3 weeks. Also I'm supposed to do crunches and a few other exercises for abs. I really don't see any reason to doubt him at this point, so I'll stick with that routine for the time being. :dunno: I'm also supposed to do 15 minutes of cardio at the beginning and the end of my workouts.

OK, My questions:

1) PT is saying to do high rep, low weight sets, but everything I read here says the opposite. Since I'm a noob should I do what he says, or what OT suggests?

2) How many times per week should I work out?

3) I've read about protein, and I've started drinking protein shakes this week. How many shakes should I drink in a day? When are they the most effective?

4) Should I take fat burner supplements or not? If so, please recommend one.

My overall goal is to continue fat loss and increase muscle mass.

TIA :)

2. tryfuhl

tryfuhl New Member

Abort Pt! Abort Pt!!!!@!#

3. tryfuhl

tryfuhl New Member

1) kick that fool son... you don't wanna overdo it since you're just getting used to it, do what OT suggests