MySQL

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DarthKoRn, Sep 14, 2005.

  1. DarthKoRn

    DarthKoRn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    How many databases can MySQL Server support concurrently.

    GO OT!
     
  2. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    more than you could fill i'm assuming. Databases in mysql are nothing more than a few rows of metadata and some files in the data folder for each table within the database.
     
  3. DarthKoRn

    DarthKoRn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats what we are assuming, but it just seems like their WOULD be a limitation. And with the program we are creating, it would very much be possible to fill it up if its in the 100+ range.
     
  4. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    Why so many databases? Why not normalize your data?
     
  5. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,915
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Why the heck would you require more than one database for the program you're creating? There should be absolutely no reason for multiple databases. And as Sled said, yes, you'll need to utilize data normalization.
     
  6. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    only reason i can think of, to use multiple databases, is if you're giving direct access to the end user for their data, and need to restrict permissions. Other than that, i would just normalize that data
     
  7. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,915
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Even if that was the case, I would end up writing user authentication on the interface, depending on the user, they would receive access to specific data they request. This could all be done on the software side of things. Having multiple databases is a bad idea. And horrible for optimization if your software will simultaneously be querying both databases.
     
  8. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    I complete agree with you, but i have customers that require direct access to mysql and there is no other way than to just grant them access to their own db.
     
  9. Blizzard

    Blizzard needs to robusto

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    11,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City
    maybe he ment tables?

    There are almost no limits, i seen databases spaning 300+ and 2tb in data
     
  10. DarthKoRn

    DarthKoRn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Passed along, thanks for the input guys. Im not actually the database guy in our team, so someone will look at this and make a decision. Thanks boys.
     
  11. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,915
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Can't you just create permissions for a user IN the database so the user could request specific data? :dunno: Never had to do that myself, being that I write all my authentication on the interface

    :naughty: MySQL only supports 4gb of data per table. However, I think there is a storage engine that plugs into MySQL that can expand the storage capabilities by up to 16TB
     

Share This Page