mysql question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Leb_CRX, Apr 8, 2004.

  1. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    ok say I am working on my own PC on a mySQL database, and I suddenly get a hosting account, whats the fastest way to transfer that over? do they allow me to SSH into it and load it that way? (I presume from a backup) or how exactly? does it depend on the hosting company I am with or how exactly? I need more info on this, probally a mad n00by question, but I never done this so :hs:
     
  2. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Well I'm guessing you're not using something like phpMyAdmin - which allows you great control over a mySQL database. If you don't already have it I'd *highly* recommend it for both you and your hosting account (most hosts ALREADY have this however).

    You want to use a mysqldump command found below:

    http://www.mysql.com/doc/en/mysqldump.html

    phpMyAdmin install instructions can be found here:

    http://www.aota.net/PHP_and_MySQL/phpmyadmin.php4

    A mySQL dump will basically dump everything from a database into a text file that has all the INSERT and CREATE commands you need to run on the new server.
     
  3. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Oh wow Slid, I didn't even know that (the dump has the inserts/create), I remember CyberBullets posting about that for me a while back when I was looking for a backup but I never opened the file and looked at it.

    as for phpMyAdmin, I am definitivally gonna give that a go, thanks! :)
     
  4. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
  5. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    another question, non-sql related, do hosts allow me to SSH into the server and make changes if needed?
     
  6. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    some hosts require you to verify who you are before they open up ssh to you.

    usually download a program called PuTTY and conenct using ur master username/password.
     
  7. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I know putty I use it to login to my linux server, among other things

    I just wasen't sure if they allowed access through it, but I guess that's the answer
     
  8. Ximian

    Ximian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DCA
    Why don't you ask them to be sure considering everyone has a different security policy. Generally speaking, if you have access to it, you're allowed to use it, just don't abuse it.
     

Share This Page