My WRT54GL throttles me back - why??

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Coottie, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    So I've got a linksys WRT54GL wireless router, encrypted, and I've been noticing that my connection speed varies. It's supposed to be a 54Mbs router but when I mouse over the taskbar icon it will show anywhere from 11Mbs to 54Mbs. Right now it's at 36Mbs.

    Anyone know why it would do this??
     
  2. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because it is a defective piece of crap?

    Try DD::WRT on it, then get another router if that don't work.
     
  3. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    Hmm....not familiar with that. Is DD::WRT that much better than the OS that came with the router?
     
  4. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    My router starting doing that once I moved to an apartment building with many different wireless APs broadcasting in the same area. As such, it is most likely interference caused by other wireless signals, or if that is not the case, it may be defective.
     
  5. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Also, what signal strength are you getting? Obviously the farther away from the AP you are, the slower the throughput will be.
     
  6. Dnepr

    Dnepr Guest

    Try HyperWRT Thibor 15c ;)


    Extremely good on this router.
     
  7. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    Hmm...that sound reasonable. I don't know how many others there are but I do see a couple are close by.

    Usually my signal strength is very good or excellent.
     
  8. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    DD::WRT is a new OS for your router. Try it.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    It's working fine. 54Mbps is the MAXIMUM. Falling back to 36Mbps is normal.
     
  10. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    Is it normal to fall back to 11Mbps? I've only seen this happen once and once it was down to 1Mbps so I rebooted the router and it cleared it up.
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes, if the signal is poor, or you get many re-xmits, it'll step down all the way to 1mbps. As QoS increases, you'll get better speeds till it finds it's "sweet" spot.
     
  12. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get a 1W inline amplifier and a high gain antennae.
     

Share This Page