my system sounds dont work :( *screenshots*

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bigfodee, Jan 5, 2005.

  1. bigfodee

    bigfodee Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    18,742
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    any system sound like startup, error, etc or AIM instant messages, or flash webpage. they dont work

    mp3s do, as do games. if i go into hardware it says everything is working correctly. its been like this ever since i reinstalled winXP pro a few months ago.


    obviously i have nothing else running, but if i try to test i get stuff like these
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    sounds like your soundcard is running in half-duplex. As for changing that, I'm not too sure.
     
  3. stosh

    stosh BUBBLE BUTT BOBBY MAC

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    3,430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County NY
    Have you removed any jumpers off your MOBO?
     
  4. bigfodee

    bigfodee Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    18,742
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI

    well.... thats a big maybe but i dont think so





    when i was moving into school, i accidently dropped the computer. the case got a lil messed up, but it still ran and i beleive the sound worked at that point. i wasnt running a firewall at first and got owned by spyware. anyway, i upgraded from 98se to xp pro and it took 5 reinstalls to get the spywhere off, everything working right, and the firewall up before spyware came back

    on some installs the sounds would work, others not. the last time i had finally got everything working so i just said fuck it.




    last week i installed everything to a new case and i dont really seem to have anything extra floating around. im pretty sure the sound is all onboard anyway since i only had a video card and modem to reinstall onto the mobo
     
  5. stosh

    stosh BUBBLE BUTT BOBBY MAC

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    3,430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County NY
    Did you install the audio wire on the front of your case onto your MOBO?
     
  6. bigfodee

    bigfodee Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    18,742
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    i beleive so. either way, i got the same shit before i switched cases
     
  7. stosh

    stosh BUBBLE BUTT BOBBY MAC

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    3,430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County NY
    That makes no sense. If you have Audio/USB ports on the front of your case the wires from the new case need to be reconnected to the MOBO.
     
  8. bigfodee

    bigfodee Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    18,742
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI


    no i meant i got the same problems before i switched cases. yes i hooked up all the new stuff
     
  9. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    that wouldn't give an error in windows, the sound would just not work.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    *ahem* as I said... The sound card is likely running half-duplex instead of full-duplex.
     
  11. MrMan

    MrMan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go to START->SETTINGS->CONTROL PANEL->SYSTEM->DEVICE MANAGER. Your sound card is set up under 'sound, video and game controllers. Tell us everything under that category.

    Better yet... post a screenshot of it like you did with the first post.
     
  12. bigfodee

    bigfodee Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    18,742
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI

    if such is the case.. ive no idea how to fix it. something is unplugged?






    was lookin around and this caught my eye

    [​IMG]
     
  13. bigfodee

    bigfodee Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    18,742
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI


    i cant really do this:
    START->SETTINGS->CONTROL PANEL->SYSTEM->DEVICE MANAGER.



    those arent my options. i posted a screenshot above of what my shit looks like tho
     
  14. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    right click my computer, properties, hardware tab, then device manager, then down to sound, multimetia. delete the drivers to the sound card, then try reinstalling them.
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yep, you have a half-duplex driver... what mobo/card are you using?
     

Share This Page