my stupid WRT54g is dropping its signal 3 times an hour

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by babygodzilla, Apr 19, 2007.

  1. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah my WRT54g is sucking. sometimes it's fine, but other times the signal can drop 3-4 times in an hour. whats a good fix??? should i change firmware?? rite now im using Satori-4.0 v2.07.1.7sv
    honestly i dont even know what that means. i messed around with it way awhile back and i dont know why i have this firmware anymore.

    ok thanks for any help!
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    The WRT54G routers seem to be pretty flaky; we've had a few arguments about them here in the past. You could try DD:WRT firmware, but I'd rather just replace the router.

    I know people here love to hate on D-Link, but I've never once had a problem with one of their wireless routers dropping a signal -- it's always been the D-Link PCI cards that had shitty reception. D-Link router + Linksys cards = FTW.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    meh, not a dlink fan.


    Try DD::WRT and adjust the xmit power to a stable level.
     
  4. PocoDiablo

    PocoDiablo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NOVA
    Also try changing the channel. If you are near other people on the same channel, it can cause problems like that.
     
  5. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive changed the channel to just about every channel available. did not help. ill try the DD:WRT. thanks guys!
     
  6. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    edit: apparently i can only make changes using IE :wtf: ? ok whatever.


    so now what ?
    1) how do i optimize my settings?
    2) how do i set a computer to a static IP address?

    thanks
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2007
  7. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    If you're a p2p or torrent fan, D-Link routers, especially the DI-624, will bring nothing but pain and sorrow. :wtc:
     
  8. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok ive tried playing with the power settings. it hasnt done much. in fact the signal strength went down for a bit. maybe the router is simply too far and has too many walls in between it and my comp. do i need a repeater?
     
  9. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yep, mine's been pretty solid since doing this.
     
  10. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0

    what's a "stable" level? im at 100 rite now and its still pretty weak. very weak actually. no more than 15%, sometimes all the way down to 8%. i step out of the room and then it jumps to 20%. fuck repeaters are expensive..
     
  11. D3aC0n

    D3aC0n Vesa ToskaLOL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    37,277
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Toronto
    100 is pretty high alright... the recommended "safe" value is around the 70's
     
  12. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok yea im gonna tone it down since its not helping at all.

    any of you use repeaters? suggestions?
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    that's too high. If you boost it too high, you just start increasing noise and hurting the signal, again.

    58 mW is perfect for me.

    At this point you can look at a better client card, and better antenna for the router. However, at some point, you simply need to look at a solution like WDS.
     
  14. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0

    what is WDS? and my laptop has a built in wireless receiver. i looked around at antennas and the highest rated one on amazon is only 3 stars, with many many many complaints. thats why i was looking at repeaters. does WDS encompass a repeater as well?
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2007
  15. Javi

    Javi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    37,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I've had similar problems - what I did was to flash the firmware to my WRT54G to DD-WRT, increase the transmit power a bit - use a channel (1-11), do not use anything above it. I think I use channel 1 since everyone uses 6. I haven't had to reboot my router in over a month.

    If that fails, I say your router is crapping out. Get a Buffalo WHR-54GS if you do. Those are upgradable to use DD-WRT. I also have one of those and use it as a wireless bridge.
     
  16. Vaytan

    Vaytan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wpg
    Used have the same router and same problems. I went and picked up a D-link no problems since then. The linksys was about 6 months old and now my D link is almost 1 year and trouble free.
     
  17. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I have mine at 70. My router is only like 6 feet away, though.
     
  18. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    this router is about 4 years old probably. ive toned it down to like 65 i think (random number). if i take a straight line from the router to my laptop its probably like 20-30 feet away, but that is not the case with all the walls around.

    so should i get a new router? will that definitely solve the problem? i think in a given day the wireless connection drops at least twice, and that's just when I'm at home. who knows whats happening when im at work. also, the internet connection would disconnect for no reason about every other day.

    new router? repeater? new router + repeater? (i dont think i can afford both).
     
  19. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    My shit dies constantly. Hard reboot fixes it.
     
  20. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I keep telling myself that, when I finally have to buy my own hardware, I'm going to go to a Home Depot and buy a grow-light timer to plug the router and cable modem into. That way I can have it shut off for 15 minutes every day at 3am, or something like that.
     
  21. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea but it sux having to hard reboot every fuckin day...
     
  22. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    See above.
     
  23. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    grow light timer? how exactly does that work? where does it plug into?
     
  24. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just want a decent router. My brother spent like $275 on one thats quite good.
     
  25. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a clock that plugs into an outlet and it turns outgoing power on and off at times you specify with little trip markers.
     

Share This Page