MMA My shatty bag work (vid)

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by konrad109, Jun 30, 2006.

1. konrad109

konrad109 New Member

http://youtube.com/watch?v=WI_-kqGzp9A

I've been out of the gym for a while, and only have about 6 months of actual training. I do watch a lot of DVDs though. :wiggle:

Lay it one me, I wanna know everything I'm doing wrong, cause looks like its gonna be a while till I have the time and money to join a gym again and I don't wanna pick up too many bad habits.

Also don't watch my kicking video, cause its just :greddy:

2. raxton

raxton .

3. konrad109

konrad109 New Member

:squint:

4. DKKD

DKKD New Member

well... you're the best self taught guy i've ever seen

5. JordanClarkson

JordanClarkson OT Supporter

Why aren't you letting it swing? :ugh:

And throw more jabs.

6. Sarge21

Sarge21 Frau am Steuer Ungeheuer!

everyone is gonna tell you something different but from what i see:

on your straight punches youre letting your elbow rotate up and to the outside, keep your lats locked and try to drag your elbow along your side on straight punches.

you have some hip rotation but you need more, the reason you dont get it is because youre not letting you rear foot rotate. At full extension of your punch your rear foot should ideally point at your target.

Like i said, everyone here will likely tell you something different based on their various styles and what not. This is just my .02 after watching the vid.

7. 2ofdem

2ofdem OT Supporter

Doesnt look too bad a few pointers.

You seem to be using your arms alot the order of a good punch should be hips -> shoulder -> arm with the arm primarily in a distance and direction role most of the power should come from the hips/core/shoulder.

8. Skeletor

Skeletor Guest

Goods:
    -footwork. You are doing really well here.
    -Combos. You're throwing some solid combinations.

Bads: