My PB isnt recognizing ram anymore

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Pineapple Devil, Jun 21, 2007.

  1. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    ok so i've got a 1gb stick in the top slot that i added and a 256mb stick that was part of the original 512mb that came with it. i just upgraded to 10.4.10 and when i was looking at the about this mac i saw that it says i only have 1gb installed.

    now i cant find a screw driver small enough to take the screws out to pull out the ram and see if anything is wrong with it :mad:
     
  2. agent0068

    agent0068 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    39,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm not sure how the PB does it, but some models require that you put RAM in your machine in pairs :dunno:
     
  3. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    i doubt thats it. its always recognized it before. just when i looked at it today, its not
     
  4. agent0068

    agent0068 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    39,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh
     
  5. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome to the lower ram slot issue club.

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303173

    Mine isn't in the range and I have yet to get it repaired. If you aren't in the range, it's $320 for a flat rate repair. They're repair anything they find wrong for that price.
     
  6. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    :hs: mine isnt in that range. i bought mine in 2003.
     
  7. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    ok this is really pissing me off. i swapped out the positions for the 2 sticks and it worked fine until i restarted. now its doing the same thing.

    it really pisses me off that i have the same EXACT problems of 2 warranty issues and yet they wont fix it. i'm going to send them an email b/c this really chaps my ass about apple.

    i guess i'll try to sell this one and my ibook and look into getting a mac pro
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2007
  8. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    and i guess i've had it since 2003 so even if i bought applecare its been too long for them to fix it
     

Share This Page