MMA My North OC Jiu Jitsu adventure! This thread is two weeks late! *VERY LONG*

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by chechen, Sep 14, 2007.

1. chechen

chechen Brazilian Jiu Jitsu OT Supporter

Okay.. I'm sitting here fasting (shut up bit) and kinda bored. So I'll tell you about my recent training, and experience with jiu jitsu academy shopping.

background: I moved from west los angeles where I had been training for nearly five years to the city of Fullerton, CA. I needed to find a good place to train, so I decided to shop around.

The first place I checked out was Showtime Jiu Jitsu. I was actually planning to train at this place because I am a huge Javier Vazquez nuthugger. Unfortunately, when I went there he wasn't teaching, and the class was about 95% white belts. The purple belt there teaching is known on the tournaments scene here, and is excellent. Basically, I found there are a handful of awesome guys, and then the rest of the people there aren't such great training. So I'd be paying to train with maybe four or five guys basically. This did not rub me the right way.

The second place I went to was tinguinha jiu jitsu. Tinguinha is an old gracie barra black belt that had a falling out with them. I'm not totally sure why. I thought I was going to get my butt kicked here because gracie barra guys are all fancy and complicated with the gi, but I actually did very well. The only person who gave me a hard time was this huge 230 pound purple belt, who just layed on me forever. Tinguinha was very nice, and I kept this school in mind.