My New Rig

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by o2, Dec 10, 2006.

  1. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    QX6700
    4gb ram
    7900GTX (fuck 8800gtx, I dont game much)
    some mobo that supports raid 10 + SLI
    4x300GB raid 1+0 for data (600GB of striped/mirrored space)
    150GB raptor for booting
    200GB sata for backup and shit

    for video editing, web development, and gfx.

    :coolugh:
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2006
  2. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Uhh yah 7900gtx, lol. Typo.

    I havent bought this thing yet, I just got the video card last night. I dont really care about the mobo, as long as it supports 6 HDs, raid10, firewire and has onboard sound and ethernet as well as SLI.... I might get a 2nd 7900GTX once they make SLI work with multi-monitor setups.

    You think QX6800 is a waste? I know for normal usage it wont make much of an impact, for for video rendering it might......
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    Make sure your video rendering app can take advantage of the extra cores.

    I know Canopus has the ability. But I don't think a lot of the programs do.

    With the 6 hard drive issue, you for sure need to get a 965 chipset.
     
  4. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Ohh, how come?

    I dont get this chipset deal....

    Which one of these will be a good choice?
    http://www.icct.ca/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=2&sid=96c2dd0fc48871e6ffee45662a34f3b5

    6 hds, sata raid 1+0 (10), firewire, sli, sound, ethernet is what I need.

    I see many that say:

    Southbridge
    - 6 x SATA 3.0 Gb/s ports
    - Intel Matrix Storage Technology supports RAID 0, 1, 5 and 10.
    JMicron® JMB363 PATA and SATA controller
    - 1 x UltraDMA 133/100/66 for up to 2 PATA devices
    - 1 x Internal SATA 3.0 Gb/s port
    - 1 x External SATA 3.0 Gb/s port (SATA On-the-Go)
    - Support SATA RAID 0, 1 and JBOD


    So is it raid 0,1 or 0, 1, 5 and 10?
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2006
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    The 965 boards are the only ones that support 6 sata channels.

    The better 965 boards are the Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 and the
    Asus P5B Deluxe.

    I'm running an Intel motherboard and it's been very stable.
    But Intel's software sucks donkey ass. Avoid Intel like the plague for now.
     
  6. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Both of those dont have SLI thou, and I dont want crossfire. P5B is perfect other than that.
     
  7. Wickedld9

    Wickedld9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't you mean QX6700? Got mine yesterday and loving it so far.
     
  8. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Uhh yah. Typo. :o
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  10. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    The place where I buy all my shit (damn I wish newegg shipped to Canada) doesnt have the evga board (which I like more than the asus).

    Im debating if I should get the qx6700 or just the e6600 and wait till they release Q6600 in Q1 of 2007. I cant really justify spending $1300 on a CPU..... or can I?
     
  11. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I think the regular Core 2 Duo's are so fast that unless you do regular video editing with a program that supports the extra cores, you won't get your money's worth.

    I would spend the extra few dollars to get the eVga sent to you from the states, and get the E6600 and overclock it to the mid 3ghz range.


    I'm heading out so I don't have time to look it up, but here's some trustworthy vendors from the states.

    www.newegg.com
    (I recently read they were going to start shipping to Canada. It would be worth it to double check when)
    www.ewiz.com
    www.zipzoomfly.com
    www.tigerdirect.com
     
  12. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
  13. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    I use vegas and AVid... both have quad core support.

    That board seems awfully pricey, and to be honest, I rather have the chinaman store put it all together for me, because if they fuck it up, and it explodes (like it did 3 years ago) they replace it all. If I fuck up... I burn my money.
     
  14. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's a big price difference from dual core to quad core.

    I would spend some time googling it and make darn sure that those two
    programs truly handle quad threading.

    If they do, then by all means go with the quad core.
    It could wind up making a big difference in rendering times.
     
  15. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    I know on my measly little e6400 at stock speeds I was able to encode and burn a video last night while having outlook open and checking email, using AIM, downloading a torrent with utorrent and having 4 or 5 IE7 windows open and my system didn't even show any signs of being sluggish. Back when I had my pentium 3.2e my system would be a little slow when just encoding a video and using IE.
    Not exactly an exact comparison to what you will be doing but this C2D was worth the $ over my 3.2e and then some.
     
  16. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    I core Core Duo (not core2) on my laptop, and its a speed demon compared to my P4 3.2ghz.

    Im probably gonna go with e6600 until core quad comes out, and I'll just get the non-extreme version.
     
  17. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Okay, Im ordering mobo, cpu and memory from ncix. Does memory speed affect anything? pc4200 vs 6400. Worth the extra $60?
     
  18. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    There's no reason for an extra 200GB backup drive when you have 600GB of mirrored space.

    Snag two 74GB Raptor's and set them up in RAID 0 for your boot disk. Better yet, buy an iRAM drive and whittle XP down to a 4GB install.
     
  19. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    600GB drive will be for editing and storage and shit. I'll keep the stuff I rarely use on the 200GB drive. Plus, I already have the 200gb HD, so why not use it?

    I read some reviews, and 150GB raptor performs betetr than 2x74gb raid0. It also minimize the chance of failure, by 50%, since its just 1 drive, vs 2.

    As for iRAM, my PC is on 24/7, and I restart it like once a week. No point.
     
  20. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yep, makes sense.

    Must've been a real POS RAID controller.

    Yep. Risk/performance tradeoff is a subjective call.

    Ahhh, I have a spare PC in a closet to run my bittorrent/fileshare/web host. My main computer is off when I do not use it. iRAM is a waste for you.
     
  21. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    Well, I ordered

    EVGA Nforce 680I SLI LGA775 Conroe ATX DDR2 2PCI-E16 2PCI SATA2 RAID Sound GBLAN 1394 Motherboard

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 4MB Retail

    Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400 2GB 2X1GB PC6400 DDR2-800 CL 5-5-5-12 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory

    OCZ GameXStream 600W ATX12V 24PIN SLI Ready Active PFC ATX Power Supply 120MM Fan Black

    I got a 150GB raptor coming next week, and I already have a 7900GTX. Im gonna go to a local computer store and get a case, and 3 more 300gb drives and Im ready to go!
     
  22. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    that should be a nice system. good luck.
     
  23. o2

    o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Toronto
    I just hope I dont fuck up putting it together.
     

Share This Page