my new moniter doesn't work :(

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mr_barbra, May 10, 2007.

  1. mr_barbra

    mr_barbra New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi there, i brought a 19" moniter to go with my imac, i brought a mini-dvi to dvi adapter new off ebay, and connected everything up.

    Nothing shows on the new screen, i went into system preferences and it siad that i hadn't connected up a second moniter

    help! i thought i would be easy to do this!

    i tried restarting to no avail
     
  2. fixthe fernback

    fixthe fernback New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is plugged into power and on, correct?
     
  3. mr_barbra

    mr_barbra New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes yes and yes
     
  4. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, all i did was hooked my second monitor up using a DVI cable and a mini-DVI to DVI converter to my iMac, and it immediately worked. Even recognized the brand and model of the 2nd monitor, which is Dell 17something
     
  5. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    :werd:

    Do it this way.

    1. Plug external monitor into power outlet, and turn on.
    2. Turn off Macintosh
    3. Connect external monitor to Macintosh
    4. turn on Macintosh

    There should be a mirror on the external monitor, I beleive that is the default setting, then go into system preferences to change it to acting as a second display.

    If that doesn't work, then the connector your bought on ebay is bad. I did the exact same above steps on my Macbook Pro with a 10 year old monitor that my school was giving way for free, and it worked.
     
  6. mr_barbra

    mr_barbra New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    we i did what you said mate, but nothing worked.

    funnily enough i connected it to my ibm laptop using a VGA cable and all was fine :dunno:
     
  7. ryckmonster

    ryckmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    maybe the dvi is bad on it then...

    buy a mini-dvi to vga adapter
     
  8. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA

Share This Page