My laptop won't let me get on the web. Please HALP!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Bennybenguin, Feb 20, 2008.

  1. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    I show good signal strength and a connected status, but I can't open any web pages, AIM, etc.

    The same thing happens on 3 different wireless connections.

    Any ideas?

    :x:
     
  2. 1999TL

    1999TL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Are you connected through a router and didn't pay your cable bill?
     
  3. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. I am at work. We have a choice of 3 different wireless connections. It has worked fine for the past year and randomly stopped working yesterday.

    All the other computers in the office are fine.
     
  4. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems to be receiving only about 1% of the packets sent.
     
  5. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Start -> Run -> cmd

    ipconfig /release
    ipconfig /renew
     
  6. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks. tried it and this happened:

    "No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection while its media is disconnected"

    Ethernet adapter Local Area connection:

    Media state.........: Media disconnected
     
  7. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Disable your ethernet adapter and try it again.
     
  8. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    "No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection while it has its media disconnected"
     
  9. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
  10. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your continued help, but it still isn't working.

    Any other ideas?
     
  11. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Stupid question. Did you install any programs?
    Has anything changed on the network?
    Are other people with their laptop's able to use the internet?
     
  12. JayC71

    JayC71 Guest

    Can any other wireless devices connect to your router?
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    ipconfig /all

    ping the default gateway

    post result.
     
  14. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    also check the settings or disable any firewall/anti-virus/anti-spyware you have.
     
  15. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't install any programs very recently.

    There are several networks that I have access to and I think everything is the same.

    I don't know about other people with laptops, but all the other computers with wireless capability are working. Including this one I am posting with.
     
  16. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. My computer seems to be the only one that isn't working.
     
  17. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not particularly computer savvy. Any further detailed instructions on how to do this?
     
  18. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Start button > run > type "cmd" w/o the quotes
    at the command prompt, type "ipconfig /all", again w/o the quotes
    to copy to clipboard,.... right click on the command window > select Mark > use your mouse to highlight everything > hit enter
    in windows, ctrl+v to OT
     
  19. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    :bowdown::rofl:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.Ben>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Ben
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : dlink

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : dlink
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-A5-EA-1F-BC
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.106
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 21, 2008 11:15:32
    AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 21, 2008 7:15:32
    PM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8038 PCI-E Fast Eth
    ernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-B8-B8-5D-FB

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.Ben>
     
  20. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    your wireless is connected to the network,... just no internet access right?

    ping the router, type "ping 198.168.0.1"
    ping google, type "ping google.com"
    paste the results here

    again,.... have you tried disabling any firewall/anti-v/anti-spyware?
    an expired license or if a threat is detected could make these programs halt the internet connection
     
  21. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    I turned the firewall off and to the best of my knowledge, nothing else like that is running.

    here are the results: thanks

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.Ben>ping 198.168.0.1

    Pinging 198.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 198.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.Ben>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
     
  22. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    my bad. It should be 192.168.0.1

    looks like a DNS problem
    type "ipconfig /flushdns"
    then try "ping google.com", "ping www.google.com", and "ping -a 64.233.167.147"


    Edit: have you tried disabling/enabling the wireless adapter?
     
  23. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was the first thing I tried. No dice.

    Here are the new results, including the corrected ping address:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.Ben>ipconfig/flushdns

    Windows IP Configuration

    Successfully flushed the DNS Resolver Cache.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.Ben>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.Ben>ping www.google.com
    Ping request could not find host www.google.com. Please check the name and try
    again.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.Ben>ping -a 64.233.167.147

    Pinging 64.233.167.147 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 64.233.167.147:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.Ben>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=206ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=20ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 20ms, Maximum = 206ms, Average = 81ms
     
  24. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    from the command line try
    tracert 64.233.167.147
     
  25. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    try:

    nslookup
    google.com
    server 208.44.242.31
    google.com

    post results.


    And btw, your symptoms (getting to router but not internet... wifi) are very consistent with an old router that has mac-filtering turned on but where your mac is not in the ACL.
     

Share This Page