SRS My Grandpa was an alcoholic

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by LudaMan, Jul 5, 2005.

1. LudaMan

LudaMan Active Member

When i was a freshman in high school (about six years ago), my grandpa on my dads side passed away. It was a sad time, everyone did the standard operating procedure of mourning for him, and after a while, they just stopped talking about him. Compared to my other family, my dads was very "proper" and i never really felt welcome there except by my aunt maggie, but thats another story.

Anyway, i did a little research of my own on my grandpa, mainly by casually asking relatives and looking through old photo albums and such. Grandpa had never felt much like a grandpa to me because he was always intimidating and would have these anger spurts that got so bad that my mom wouldnt let my sister and me be in the room with him without someone else there. When i was a kid, they did a good job of hiding their skeletons, so everything seemed close to normal for me.

To make a long story not quite as long, i found out that my grandpa was an alcoholic. My mom felt it was time to explain it to me, which makes sense now, because when i was a kid, he would always have a drink in his hand, but when youre a kid, you tend to not pay as much attention to those things. I feel a bunch of different emotions now, some good, but most bad. It explained his anger problems, and why he would always be alone by himself when we had family gatherings. Im not one for bullshitting people or holding things back, so when i thought back to all the cute funny little stories people shared at his funeral, it kind of bothered me that they were hiding who he really was.

I dont know why im typing this, no one can help me, especially not my dads family, because they refuse to bring it up. I guess it just feels good to get it out to someone else. I guess what im trying to ask is: has anyone else encountered something similar to this before?

2. KarmaPolice

KarmaPolice Active Member