My G4 sawtooth has some life in it again. v.Processorupgrade

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jackjohnson, Jun 7, 2006.

  1. jackjohnson

    jackjohnson simple as something nobody knows OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    40,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    450mhz----> 1.4 ghz 2mb L3 cache :bowdown:

    its so zippy now. it should handle all the programs I've been having hang ups with a lot more better.

    oh and :bowdown: to otherworldcomputing, placed order saturday morning, it went out saturday. would've been here yesterday if UPS didnt screw up. Cheap and fast shipping.
     
  2. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can never find any upgrades for my dual 867 g4. :wtc:
     
  3. jackjohnson

    jackjohnson simple as something nobody knows OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    40,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    you ever think about upgrading to a single processor? im not sure what stats your G4 has but in some tests I've seen an upgraded single processor seems to walk lower rated dual's
     
  4. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    a while ago I upgraded a dual 500mhz sawtooth with dual 1.25Ghz with L3 and it was a pretty good speed jump. Nothing will get you passed that shitty 100mhz bus speed though :hs:
     
  5. jackjohnson

    jackjohnson simple as something nobody knows OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    40,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    yeah true. I haven't really tested it all that much. I just tested a couple of things that were pissing me off. Like dreamweaver beach balling for 3-4 seconds exiting/entering the program. It solved that problem. It was a pricey upgrade (259). hell I got the whole comp for that much. but all I need it to do is hold me down until adobe releases cs on univ. binary then I will upgrade...
     
  6. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    $259 isn't bad at all. I think I paid something like $350 for my upgrade. I already had 1gig of ram, so that was for the processor alone. I think your upgrade will suit you well for another year (if not more).
     
  7. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

Share This Page