MMA My first grappling tournament

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by Biodragon, Mar 10, 2010.

1. Biodragon

Biodragon $$ > me OT Supporter

So, I'm not a big follower of the crowd here in the cage. So here is some background info on me before the videos.

I've been training twice a week for 3 months, in a MMA class, so I wasn't concentrating solely on grappling before this. This was my first tournament. In a beginner-1 division (0-6 months training) with a weigh in of 225. The weight division was 210+.... But for both of my matches I don't think weight was a issue... Probably more so upper body strength advantage for them if anything.. Anyways, here are my two matches, I am in the red. I came in 2nd with the silver out of 6.

I am posting these to get some insight on what could have been done different/better and for some constructive criticism as well.

Also, The quality isn't that great cause it was taken off a digital camera

match 1:
    [y]sen2JZk8RMs[/y]

match 2: Supposedly this guy was a "sandbagger". I think it means he was fighting in a skill class lower than what he really was? That's what my coach told me after the match. Doesn't really bother me if true, but it could explain why I felt like I was practically man handled that second fight.. lol

[y]RYoN1W6DH4c[/y]

2. markfluko

markfluko New Member

I think I know what tournament you are going to... I will be there but in a different weight class. It is my first tourney as well

What is your name so I can watch you.

This is going to be at Texas A&M right?

3. Biodragon

Is there one at A&M coming up? This one just happened on the 6th.

4. adrenalin112

adrenalin112 New Member

youre a big boy.

dont extend your arms out so far, keep them in tight (use your forearms to make space), dont get flat on your back.

good job getting out there and competing.

5. markfluko

markfluko New Member

Ya this coming weekend, it is the college nationals.