A&P my first engagement shoot coming up

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by themolsen, Oct 19, 2009.

1. themolsen

themolsen New Member

...in a couple of weeks

Great couple; the guy is my best friend and his fiancee is super fun and laid back. I told them I'd do it for free as my gift.
    -edit- and they're both attractive

What basic tips can you offer before I do this? I'll be using 2 wireless strobe and have a pretty good range of lenses...I'll mostly be using my Tamron 17-50 2.8 and the Nikon 50 1.8, Nikon D50 body.

I've shot people before, but am not totally confident in my ability to pose people. I am confident in my shooting ability and I know I'll get some great shots for them.... I just need a little pro advice:o

2. SonicYan

SonicYan Active Member

Hehe I'm not a pro so I offer no real advice. :o You can always check the work of the good pros on here and go from there. :dunno:

3. White Stormy

White Stormy Take that, subspace!

Not a pro, but one thing I learned from shooting my cousin's engagement photos last year is not to rush. I had told them to block out 3-4 hours, and then they went and scheduled something just an hour or so after we were supposed to start. We were basically running through a park, and I fucked up so many things just because I wasn't taking the time to think about anything.

The couple I was with looked very awkward while I was shooting, and I was asking them to relax, but me saying that made them worse, and they looked better in the photos anyway than they did while I was shooting.

If you get an idea for something while you're out there, don't just think you got it and move on. Make sure you got it. Take the few seconds to check the LCD, zoom in, etc, if it'll mean giving them better photos later.

4. White Stormy

White Stormy Take that, subspace!