A&P My first attempt at high(er) res timelapse...

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by nicklk, Sep 13, 2006.

  1. nicklk

    nicklk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    23,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    This is my VERY first production of a movie clip, so excuse the shitty quality, but I think it turned out ok except the thing on the bottom.....

    Whatcha guys think??

    Right click save
    http://www.nicklk.com/videos/firstattempt.avi
     
  2. Blair

    Blair New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    8,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    downing now, i was waiting to see what you came up with. there is lightening in the forecast for my area latter this week. i thought that might create some cool timelapse if i could capture a strike or two.
     
  3. nicklk

    nicklk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    23,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Mind you this is 299 captures, at 12.0 fps, and MAJOR quality reduction thru Flash (they convert to .bmp for frames)......and it ends up being about 24 seconds long...

    299 captures, for 2 seconds, with 5 seconds between each shot.....thats 35 minutes of sky movement.....

    The dude that made the big production was using 24.0 FPS and most of his were 40-50 second long episodes:cool:
     
  4. Blair

    Blair New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    8,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    great first attempt. looks smooth. now you just need a better subject and some music.
     
  5. nicklk

    nicklk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    23,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Thanks!! Its my first attempt, now onto more interesting subject matters lol
     
  6. JaimeZX

    JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Yeah, dood, looks neat. :bigthumb:
     
  7. wisie

    wisie New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aus
    Damn towards the end was cool..

    So this was 290 captures? Damn! I shall consider doing this
     
  8. f/2.8L

    f/2.8L New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    404
    Downloading Now...

    Edit: Damn nice for your first attempt! That's awesome! And you used the remote capture software too, right?
    Good job!
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2006
  9. Airpoppoff

    Airpoppoff Vodka > Racing F1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kirkland, Seattle, Wa
    Awesome job and effort!
     
  10. nicklk

    nicklk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    23,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Thanks guys! I am still working with other prgrams to see if I can make it look cleaner, but the high res pics are just mutilating my computer....

    And yes I used EOS Capture 1.5 to take the pictures
     
  11. MojoDojo

    MojoDojo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So.Cal, CA
    Thats really cool. At one point a shooting star or something fires across the screen towards the ground. Looks like it explodes in the corner of the screen.

    Nice!
     
  12. dz

    dz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Wa
    I think it was really cool man. I see it now, next OT Photog trend, time lapses!

    I know I want to try it now. ;)
     
  13. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,486
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    I once accidentally opened 40 full size pics from my 30d in Imageready as frames.. my 1GB ram dropped to 3MB ram free :hs:
     
  14. nicklk

    nicklk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    23,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Ya! Imagine having 300 frames!!
     
  15. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,486
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    300 at 600x450 is nothin

    upgrade your computer :o
     
  16. nicklk

    nicklk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    23,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    No, original size of the pics are 2200x2000....the movie program resized to 600x450....
     
  17. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,486
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    oh, why the hell'd you do that? :o

    windows xp resize powertoy would do that a whole lot faster :o
     
  18. wisie

    wisie New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aus
    So you pretty much set your laptop next to it with EOS Capture running and then fired off a shot every 5 minutes for 2 seconds? Oh my I'm going to have to do this now!

    OT Timelapse thread for sure! Get amongst it.

    So when are we going to see another lapse from you? :big grin:
     
  19. sLpFhaWK

    sLpFhaWK www.JJiGz.com

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malden, MA
    that shits kewl for a 1st attempt. If i had a balcony or something where i could rest the camera w/ no one walking infront of it i'd go nuts..

    but i'd like a quick FAQ on how to do it =)
     
  20. wisie

    wisie New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aus
    You could get a tool which would allow you to use a shot interval like: http://www.pclix.com/pages/pclix_main.html
    But if your poor and have a laptop then I'd recomend this method which was posted by craigl33 in http://forums.offtopic.com/showthread.php?t=2761450:

    'install zoomplayer
    install eos utility updater
    install eos capture
    turn on camera
    set a whitebalance
    open eos utility
    select remote shooting
    choose a mode that fits what you'll be doing
    adjust shutter speed/aperature
    tool > timer shooting
    check interval timer shooting
    set interval and # of pics to take
    press start
    assemble picture into your favorite video editing program
    end'
     
  21. kendan

    kendan New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    37,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    boston, tx
    keep at it, I'd like to see more.
     

Share This Page