My cube died

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DrK_Mrk_iV, Feb 7, 2005.

  1. DrK_Mrk_iV

    DrK_Mrk_iV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    12,397
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    NC
    I have (had) a mac cube. It used to work. I was using it about 2 years ago, and then never really gave it the time of day, so unplugged it and put it in the closet. I took it out and it wont power on. I know this is a vague question, but are there any known problems with them?

    I built PC's all the time.
    So far I have switched out the ram, and nothing has happened. PSU?
     
  2. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,752
    Likes Received:
    8
    power source?
     
  3. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    the power source or fuse may be dead.
     
  4. DrK_Mrk_iV

    DrK_Mrk_iV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    12,397
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    NC
    So, uh I am guessing the power source means power supply? (psu)
     
  5. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, my bad, i was reading the post above mine. power supply, not source. don't forget about the fuse that is there too.
     
  6. DrK_Mrk_iV

    DrK_Mrk_iV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    12,397
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    NC
    And... Can these motherboards die easily?
     
  7. DrK_Mrk_iV

    DrK_Mrk_iV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    12,397
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    NC
    Where is the fuse?
     
  8. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    If you're looking for a replacement, I have a cube that works flawlessly in a box that I'm selling :o
     
  9. DrK_Mrk_iV

    DrK_Mrk_iV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    12,397
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    NC
    I'll buy it for 50 bucks and not a penny more. Deal? :o
     
  10. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    :squint: :mamoru:
     
  11. Snotfist

    Snotfist I am the Urban Cowboy.

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MinnesOTa
    The computer would still turn on without the RAM so you can take that out of the equation. The "logic" board most likely wouldn't be the problem either as it should still boot up with a broken logic board.

    Like others have stated here, check the power supply, even check the cord going from the wall to the cube and see i that isn't the issue.

    Keep us updated.
     
  12. DrK_Mrk_iV

    DrK_Mrk_iV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    12,397
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    NC
    I'll work on this tomorrow. Too many things to do tonight. But will deffinatly keep you all updated.
     
  13. Malghanim

    Malghanim My wee wee has been Stricken with Rigor Mortis

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    9,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SC.CA.US *******OT BIKE CREW****
    :dunno: but goodluck!
     
  14. DrK_Mrk_iV

    DrK_Mrk_iV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    12,397
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    NC
    :dunno:

    Plugged it in another part of the room (different wall) and works fine. Now the question is... What can I do with a 450mhz G4? What OS should I get? 512 megs of ram? What else? hehe.
     
  15. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    :mamoru:
     
  16. StealthMode

    StealthMode Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    Panther should run on that. The more RAM the better too :big grin:
     
  17. DrK_Mrk_iV

    DrK_Mrk_iV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    12,397
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    NC
    Any good prices on pc-100 anywhere? I'll check newwgg...
     

Share This Page