SRS My "center" is no more

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by THT, Apr 12, 2006.

1. THT

THT The easy way is always mined

I graduated from college in May 2005 and started work at a Fortune 100 company in a rather high-profile accounting position (leads to management pretty quickly). At the same time, I purchased a small home on a relatively large piece of land (.5 acre...most lots in the subdivision are .25 acre).

Fast forward to today, almost one year later.

My family has moved to Canada (yeah, no jokes about that), my friends are hours away, my girlfriend of two years is three hours away, and I've made no friends here (nor have I attempted to whatwith work taking up so much time). My career is becoming increasingly stressful as I am moving to the most-coveted, non-supervisory position in the department next month and am the youngest staff member (24). To compound that stress, I have begun preparing for the CPA exam, something that will dictate what I do with my life for the next six months. So obviously, work has me stressed out.

At home, I discovered a signficant lawn problem...grubs had destroyed about 15% of the front lawn. I've determined that I need to take out the dead grass/sod, recondition the soil, and reseed, all before my first TruGreen treatment on May 1.

No family, no friends, lots of work, and I come home to a PITA.

Until this month, I felt like my life was in a state of balance; I focused on work and saw my friends when I could by going back to my alma mater. Then, these other issues hit me all at once and I can't seem to mitigate the turbulence. The things I used to do (target shooting and drag racing) no longer help me unwind partly because I just don't have time for them. And when I do, I worry about my lawn or my career, etc.

I guess I just needed a sounding board but if anyone has any advice, I welcome it.

2. GlassUser

GlassUser send an email not a pm OT Supporter

If you're doing so well at work, pay someone to do the work for you.