My brother is being stupid...

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by Raithan, May 16, 2005.

1. Raithan

Raithan :wackit:

He used to ride dirt bikes when he was a teenager, but hasn't since (He's 31 now).... Now he has decided he wants to get a street bike along with a couple of his buddies (stupid idea I think, but whatever) Well, I can't seem to talk him out of a big bike.. He keeps saying that because he is 6'5" and 280lbs, he needs a high CC bike. I keep telling him to get something like an SV650 or maybe a Shadow 600, something w/o a lot of power.. but he is looking at CBR1000's, R1s, and his latest idea is a Honda Interceptor ABS... Any ideas on how to make him listen to me?

Side note: I've been riding a CBRF2 (1992) for two years as my first bike, and I'm looking at either getting a 2002 CBR F4i, or a 2005 Kawa ZX-6R.. :hsugh:

2. nosaj

nosaj OT Supporter

I think you are both ready for turbo'd busas

3. RedVsBlue

RedVsBlue Penguins > *

If he is confident let him be. He will either be fine, or find out why you wanted him to ride smaller. Honestly if he has any experience with dirt bikes, and knows somewhat what he is doing, then he should be fine on a 1000. Yea its a powerful bike, but as long as he can control HIMSELF, then he should be fine.

BTW I have an 02 F4i, awesome bike :)

4. RedVsBlue

RedVsBlue Penguins > *

I was born ready for one of those! Just aint happening anytime soon :rofl:

5. Bret The Ripper

Bret The Ripper I

I agree. Let him do it. I got an RC-51 as a first bike. I did fine for the first 3 months and then laid it down. But it was a mistake that i would have made on a 600 also. The new 600's are almost as fast now anyways. Let him know that he realistically has a 99% chance of laying down his first bike as long as its a sport bike of any kind.

I would try to convince him to take a Motorcycle safety course, which will also get his motorcycle endorsement if he doenst have one.

6. Short Bus

Short Bus Beep beep!