my brother got a used 2008 Maxima today.. there's an indicator light on..

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by White Stormy, Dec 6, 2008.

  1. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    the low tire pressure indicator light is on, but tire pressures are fine.

    the manual says if the indicator light is lit when the ignition switch is set to ON, take it to your dealer immediately. he got it from an Infiniti dealer.

    any ideas?
     
  2. Bugalu

    Bugalu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    48,575
    Likes Received:
    72
    spare tire
     
  3. FiKtIOn

    FiKtIOn A bottle of Jack, a case of Pearl, and a pack of c

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    Sensors are probably going out, Vettes are the same way.
     
  4. Bugalu

    Bugalu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    48,575
    Likes Received:
    72
    on a 2008? :rolleyes:
     
  5. PanzerAce

    PanzerAce Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    14,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N37°18'37" W120°29'50"
    aftermarket wheels/tires?
     
  6. 04JETTA

    04JETTA OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10,437
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    The Prarie State/The Hoosier State
    take it to the dealer and run a diognostic?
     
  7. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    yeah gonna do that this week. it's a 2008 still under the original warranty.. hopefully something like this is covered in "bumper to bumper"
     
  8. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    I'm assuming that the dealer he got it from rotated the tires or something and didn't attach something, or put something in the wrong place, etc

    or maybe you just can't rotate these tires with the sensors and things
     
  9. LA02MAX

    LA02MAX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Nissan TPM systems always go out...My friend has a 2007 versa that's been in the shop twice for it and her mom has an '08 maxima that has the light on right now.
     
  10. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,448
    Likes Received:
    12
    I don't know about nissan's, but on toyota's you can reset or resync the TPS to the current air pressure of your current tires. some times the TPS warning comes on if you rotate tires and shit and need to reset, holding the TPS reset button for a couple sec while ignition is on.

    i assume this procedure would be universal for all jap cars with TPS.
     
  11. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    as far as I can tell, there's no way to reset it.
     
  12. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    good to know. thanks
     
  13. Sonic

    Sonic Live every day to the fullest, for yesterday is go

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    48,083
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westchester County,New York
    All TPMS systems are battery operated, having one out usually means a prematurely dead battery.
     
  14. Scottwax

    Scottwax Making detailing great again! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 5, 2000
    Messages:
    160,440
    Likes Received:
    844
    Location:
    Home of the Texas Rangers
    Ford's too. I had a customer with an Expidition and in the 3 years she owned it, the dealership tried several times to correct the problem but never could.

    White Stormy-you also might want to poke around in the 6th gen forum at www.maxima.org and see if this is a common problem and what the fix is.
     
  15. meervincent

    meervincent New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    0
    everyones tire indicators are fucked. if the tires where changed incorrectly it needs new sensors if its just from a rotation they need reporograming. we hate them at the shop lol
     
  16. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Personally, I'd get whatever is the Nissan equivalent of a VAG-COM cable, and use my laptop to tell the engine computer the TPMS doesn't exist. (That's what I did with my burned-out washer fluid level indicator -- like that's a critical system, or something.) Only a complete idiot doesn't know something's wrong when his car is pulling to the side really hard, and it's not difficult to walk around the car once a week to look at the tires.
     
  17. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    thanks, dude
     
  18. rYu

    rYu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,434
    Likes Received:
    0
    does it blink at first at the start up?
     
  19. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    iirc, it came on and just stayed on

    I think he took it to the dealer and they reset it or something to fix it
     
  20. americanwit

    americanwit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    make sure all tires are definitely over 30 psi, our system triggers there and tires will need to be well above to get it to reset, try around 36 psi and drive it for a bit. Sometimes they are just stubborn though.
     

Share This Page