Mustang GT potential?

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by 4bangin, Apr 23, 2004.

1. 4bangin

4bangin Ballet of Violence

How is the potential of a 2000 Mustang GT? I am in the market for a new car and my friend has a Roush Stage 2 GT that he will sell me pretty cheap. Due to the price, I am seriously considering it. I am new to mustangs, so I don't know much about them. How tough is it to get a GT to run say..low 11s? I would imagine they can't handle too much since it's just a SOHC, but then again I could be totally wrong. Thanks!

2. Solid Snake

Solid Snake Guest

They run low 14's out of the box (0-60 in 5.5) given that it's a 5spd. With minor mods they can run low 13's. Theres a few guys I know who post on www.modulardepot.com that have hit high 11's with just bolt-ons. They've got great potential if you know what you're doing.

3. 4bangin

Thanks :) I think he already said he has exhaust, intake, xpipe and headers. How much power can these motors handle with a stock block?

4. torchC5

torchC5 Guest

Personally, I think Roush Mustangs are highly overated and overpriced, but if your friend is willing to sell it to you for a steal then go for it. There are two ways to get a GT into the 11's (without playing with the internals). You can throw a supercharger and intercooler on it (include slicks), or stick a 100+ shot of nitrous and pray your motor lasts you longer then 10,000 miles. Remember, if you have money then the sky's the limit.

5. 4bangin

I agree with you. Originally I was looking into a C5 Corvette. I have about 25k to spend on a new car. Then my friend told me he would sell me his Roush for payoff. I expected it to be around 20 or something, but it was only 14k. It isnt a super great deal or anything, but IMO pretty fair for a Roush. Plus I have piece of mind knowing the cars history.

Thanks for the information!

6. Ryuhei

Ryuhei Oh gawd

If you buy the Roush it sounds like you'll have ALOT of money for mods. Sounds like a good idea.