Multiple ip's and a firewall v.whattodo

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by tumultuous tumor, Sep 14, 2004.

  1. tumultuous tumor

    tumultuous tumor Single and loooooooooooonely.

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ok, I have 5 ip's at my disposal. I want to setup a VPN and have a webserver as well on two separate computers. I have a firewall in front of the computers. Is there anyway to make the two computers grab a public IP each while still staying within my network?
     
  2. ShapeShifterz

    ShapeShifterz Longtime Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    It all depends on your firewall type. Best case scenario is that your firewall allows nat. Assign the NAT pool to be your 5 IPs, and then use a static translation for the vpn server and webserver so that their public IP address never changes.
     
  3. SL1200MK4

    SL1200MK4 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,552
    Likes Received:
    0
    Need more specifics on the router, as their capabilites varies.

    Also, is the 5 public ips that you have static (I would certianly assume so)?

    At last... exactly which machine do you want to VPN? I don't think you had want to have VPN on your webserver do you? It will be best to leave the server at a DMZ and provide only very limited access to it. (like a basic SSH maybe)?
     
  4. tumultuous tumor

    tumultuous tumor Single and loooooooooooonely.

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I have 5 static ip's through the ISP.

    I have VPN running alone on a XP Pro workstation and the webserver is through the DMZ on the router. I've been able to forward port 1723 to the VPN server and that seems to work ok. I just want to be able to utilize the other 4 ip adresses that have been assigned. The only thing I can think of is to have the computers that i need to grab those public ip's in front of the firewall BUT I'm not sure if I can log onto the domain on those same servers.

    Thanks for the responses.
     
  5. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI

    Whats the make, model and software version?
     
  6. tumultuous tumor

    tumultuous tumor Single and loooooooooooonely.

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Just a shitty Netgear FVS328. It's pretty limited but I just wanted to get something cheap to install. I was thinking about using an XP Pro Workstation and use that as a firewall but I'm guessing that wouldn't be the greatest idea but it would be a low cost solution to get a bunch of features. Not sure yet though.
     
  7. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI

Share This Page