Multiple desktops on multiple monitors

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Biomechanoid, Jan 20, 2004.

  1. Biomechanoid

    Biomechanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Woodline.
    my friend wants to set up her system with two monitors coming off the same CPU, but running different desktops (or users) in XP; her Mobo has built in video, and she also has a GeForce2. Is it possible to accomplish this with her current hardware setup?
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2004
  2. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Nope
    If the GeForce2 has VGA and DVI connections, then it sould work.
    But you can't use on-board video and a AGP card at the same time.

    If that GF2 doesn't have both, get a GF4 MX440 (which are pretty cheap these days) does have both VGA and DVI connections as well as a S-video if needed.

    I'm not 100% sure this will work, but I believe it can.
     
  3. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I dont think that's accomplishable at all...unless your talking dual monitor but that's the same user :dunno:

    how does she plan on hooking up two keyboards to the computer ... hehe
     
  4. mucky

    mucky .

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    44,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, you can use an on-board video and AGP card at the same time as a dual monitor setup. I've done it before.
     
  5. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    You can do what you are asking with a single user, but to the best of my knowledge you can't do it with multiple users. Even if you had 2 keyboards and 2 mice I doubt any MS operating system would allow it.


    *nix on the other hand.............:big grin:
     
  6. Biomechanoid

    Biomechanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Woodline.
    sorry; what I meant was... she has multiple user profiles in XP and wants to set it up so that her "art suite" would be on one screen and her normal desktop on the other, and be able to switch between the two. That's bad wording on my part.
     
  7. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    By your profiles I am assuming that there are 2 seperate users. I don't think you can have 2 users loged on at the same time on 2 seperate monitors.
     
  8. Biomechanoid

    Biomechanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Woodline.

    damn. then what would you suggest as the best way for her to setup the two desktops (one as a work station and the other as a general desktop) going to the different monitors
     
  9. mucky

    mucky .

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    44,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Buy a second PC.
     
  10. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Why do they have to be seperate profiles? Can't you just setup a nice dual monitor setup with one user?
     
  11. Biomechanoid

    Biomechanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Woodline.

    she's got 2 profiles set up and configured pretty well for what she does (digital art/graphical stuff) and normal use (internet, gaming, etc.)


    they don't have to be seperate profiles I'm guessing, as long as in the end her work stuff will be on one screen and her browing/AIM/whatever will be on the other.
     
  12. Phenostar

    Phenostar Guest

    GET A MAC. Trying this shit on a PC is like giving yourself a root canal. Run OSX on one screen with your normal desktop, and Classic (or windows with virtual PC) on the other one. and it's easy as hell.
     
  13. mucky

    mucky .

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    44,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can basically do the same with Windows and VMWare/VirtualPC.
     
  14. affende

    affende Guest

     

Share This Page