msoobe error + activation lockout = brick

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cp5184, Jun 2, 2009.

  1. cp5184

    cp5184 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    my gaming computer got win32.virut.cf. went into safe mode and tried to get rid of it, eventually I lost, powered down, moved the hard drive to another computer, ran an antivirus, and now...

    I turn it on, it tells me it's not activated and I can't logon... so it runs msoobe... which crashes... booting me back to login. right now I've got a couple games I don't want to lose activations on, bioshock, mass effect, a couple others.

    I'm screwed?
     
  2. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    safe mode?
     
  3. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ummmm.....
    This is XP or Vista?

    Are you able to get the activation wizard to run?

    If so just call up microsoft and tell them you need it activated. When they ask what happened just tell them the truth. They will walk you through activating it.
     
  4. cp5184

    cp5184 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    booting to safe mode brings up a prompt "activation can't run in safe mode, you cannot run safe mode until you activate" or something like that.

    msoobe is the activation wizard. microsoft's techsupport are people who hand hold people through walking through the activation wizard. I might try if I get desperate enough, but I'm 99% sure they'll bounce me to OEM support.
     
  5. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    Is it a legit copy of Windows? By subscription for your games, do you mean that you downloaded them off of Steam? When you put the hard drive in the other computer, did you try copying over your save files for said games?
     
  6. cp5184

    cp5184 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's legit. bioshock uses ... securom iirc, I think mass effect does too. you have a limited numbers of "slots" or something.
     
  7. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    If you have a legit license, you should have no problem getting it activated in less than 5 minutes.
     
  8. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    I agree, when I replaced HD's for people at Geek Squad, the reinstall of WinXP almost always required new activation. It's a snap to just have the computer disconnected from the internet and call it in.

    You'll read them codes, and they'll read you codes back... simple. Good Luck!
     
  9. ldaggerl

    ldaggerl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't even have to speak with a person most of the time, and when you do they will ask questions like "how many computers is it installed on", "how many times has this been installed", "this is a retail or oem version", ect. Easy all get out.
     
  10. cp5184

    cp5184 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    let's try this again.

    I turn on the computer. it boots happily...

    login comes up, I click on my profile.

    a window pops up "your activation grace period is up, you can't logon without first activating"

    then the activation program, "c:\windows\system32\msoobe.exe /a" runs. this is the activation diologue you people are talking about where you get some verification number or you just balls out do an online activation.

    this program crashes.

    I get the "abort or debug" diologue.

    the problem here, is that the activation program fails.
     
  11. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    Format C:
     
  12. cp5184

    cp5184 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea, pop in a windows disk do the repair thing. need to find someone with a disk, don't trust torrents to be 1:1 legit copies.
     
  13. ldaggerl

    ldaggerl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could always try a repair on the OS see what that brings about, if not then you will most likely need to do a format unless you can figure out what files bad and replace it with a good one.
     

Share This Page