MS-DOS Batch File ???

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by deusexaethera, Jul 29, 2005.

1. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

I'm writing a batch file to synch my music player with the music on my computer. I have an XCOPY command to update all the files that were added/changed on my computer, now I need something that will go through the contents of the music player and delete anything that doesn't exist on the computer.

In an earlier thread, someone suggested a loop. Now that I think about it, I'll need two loops: one for deleting files, a second for deleting empty folders. Problem is, I've never written a loop in a batch file before.

Is there a generous, properly-educated soul among you who could show me a "basic" example of a loop that can trace through a folder tree and its contents? Once I get that, I can handle the rest.

2. huntz0r

huntz0r New Member

I don't think there is any way to do a loop in a batch file, being it's just a series of DOS-mode commands, but I could be wrong.

3. Keyzs

Keyzs OT Supporter

Code:
     :LOOP
           TYPE %1 | MORE
           SHIFT
           [url="http://www.cs.ntu.edu.au/homepages/bea/home/subjects/ith305/description.html#if"]IF[/url] "%1" == "" [url="http://www.cs.ntu.edu.au/homepages/bea/home/subjects/ith305/description.html#goto"]GOTO[/url] END
           GOTO LOOP
           :END

4. huntz0r

huntz0r New Member

:doh:

Interesting thing to know anyway.

5. Keyzs

Keyzs OT Supporter

The goal would be much easier to achieve with VB or similar.

6. 5Gen_Prelude

5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

for /r "c:\my music" %%i in (*.mp3) do if not exist "e:%%~pi%%~ni%%~xi" del "%%i"

Both drives must use the identical path name.

7. deusexaethera

Holy syntax! (cough)

1. Is this a straight MS-DOS command or does it need compiling?