MS Access issues

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SLED, Jan 16, 2003.

  1. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    We have a peice of software which includes an Access database on a shared drive which the MS Access clients access over the network via table links. In the last couple days, we've noticed that when closing MS Access on the client, that it takes about 30 seconds to shut down. It seems to hang on the Application.Quit line of code. When it hangs, the processor usage goes to literally 100% and is being used by the "system" process (on the server), instead of MSAccess. Nothing has been installed or even changed on the server in thet last week. Any ideas?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Try switching the location of the database (move it to another drive)
     
  3. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    yeah, we're trying a bunch of things right now.. I just found out that somebody installed Windows SP3. We moved it to a non-sp3 server and it was fast. Wonder what the deal is. :sad2:
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Well I have all my DB's on a SP3 server. I suggested the drive only because mine started to dog right before it died.
     
  5. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    hmmm... well, i actually moved it to a different server, connected with my PC, worked fine. but connect from the problem sever and it was slow. I wonder if the server is going bad. I'll probably just end up rebuilding it :( ugh, i'll be working this weekend :wtc:
     
  6. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,791
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    Try packing and rebuilding, how large is it?
     
  7. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    bout 600 meg. I just tried rolling back the SP3 installation, didn't do shit. I'm transfering the DB tomorrow and rebuilding the production server. ugh :mad:
     

Share This Page