Mr2?

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by import power online, Mar 28, 2003.

1. import power online

import power online Twin Turbo Madness

I have modded MANY hondas and Acuras including Turbo and SC and Swaps. Currently I have a VR4.

Not too familiar with Toyotas. How is the market support for the 91+ MR2? I love the body style and build quality over similar year hondas. And mid engine and Rear Wheel Drive.

I suppose one could take an N/A and swap in a Built Turbo motor with a large turbo?

How well do they take to Suspension mods? I like a good handling car also.

Overall thoughts?

2. SnYpR808

SnYpR808 Guest

I have no personal experience with these cars but from what a few owners of modded ones have told me, they're not easy cars to mod because of the mid-engine configuration. There is aftermarket support for them but much of it is Japanese which means it's more expensive of course. But when modded they're supposed to handle pretty well and they can be pretty fast. You're biggest problem is gonna be finding one. Naturally aspirated versions are difficult to locate. Turbo versions are IMPOSSIBLE to find unless you know somebody. If you do find one chances are the owner will be asking above bluebook for it unless he's someone you know. I have no idea how well the NA motor takes to FI but i heard that's not an easy mod to do.

3. SickOfItAll

SickOfItAll The Bartender

First off, go to these 2 websites to find more info:

www.mr2faq.com

THEN

board.mr2faq.com

Read then post, otherwise you'll have the hordes screaming at you to use the search function ;)

Now, to answer your questions...

Market support for the 91+ MR2 is quite good. Engine components, suspension, interior, body panels/kits, turbo kits, etc. are all readily available in the states if you know where to shop (some shops stock the stuff, some don't)