MP3 Player Code: Spectrum Analyzer - VB.NET

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by CodeX, Jul 5, 2008.

1. CodeX

CodeX Guest

Ok so yesterday I wrote an MP3 player just because I thought it would be a cool exercise and it's more or less done, all the core functionality is there it even supports multiple playlists and the ability to modify the ID3 tag data and all that stuff... but it's missing one thing, the spectrum analyzer.

I don't feel much like writing this from scratch, though I guess thats an option if there isnt a better way, but I was just wondering if anyone new of a free resource to quickly add a winamp style spectrum analyzer to a .NET project.

Along those same lines, I am brand new to Visual Basic and .NET programming so is there any really good resource for getting free code snippits or components or whatever you want to call them?

2. CodeX

CodeX Guest

Oh yeah it also desperately needs a face lift lol, I am not creative at all and just kind of slapped all the controls together, any ideas to make this look better? I would love to learn how to make an application skinnable. I've been up all night doing this lol this is basically my "Hellow World" program for VB.NET

[​IMG]

3. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

That's why I could never be a real programmer; I don't have the drive to do shit just to see if I can. I'd much rather download WinAmp instead, and write code that hasn't been written before.

Speaking of which, I imagine the AmaroK source code would be helpful.

4. CodeX

CodeX Guest