moving windows 2003 to another pc

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by keleko, Aug 5, 2006.

  1. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    i have a 933mhz whitebox pc running win2k3 enterprise

    i want to ghost the hdd and put it on a dell i have

    so far, all i get are BSOD's

    i've done a straight ghost (which i knew wouldn't work) and got a bsod
    safe mode won't happen - bsod
    reloading from cd *almost* works, except the key and data on the cd i used when it asked is apparently no good - for 180day trial, which is over now
    a popup box comes up telling me so, and won't let me load the desktop

    next step, reghost the dell with the image from the 933 - but it's gonna bsod and i'll have to reinstall from cd

    and the problem there is that i don't have the cd the 933 was installed from, and anything i can get now won't have the same files needed (different version)

    sure, i COULD download another 180 trial version, and use it to reinstall over itself but then it's 180 day trial, and not the valid win2k3 i have now (can't use my old key on the 180d files)


    suggestions anyone? i know this CAN be done, but is it worth the effort vs. just reloading?

    yes. since i don't have the cd anymore, and anything i can get would be good for only 180 days (unless someone wants to gimmie a cd and valid key ; )


    :dunno:

    check for replies after i get some sleep...
     
  2. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    no help here?
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    not legal.
     
  4. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    It won't work. You can't just more 2000 or XP to a different box and it work. Back your data up and start from scratch. If it BSOD'd in the new PC there's also a chance when you put it on the original one that it may not work. I've seen that happen too.
     
  5. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    exactly what's not legal?
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    moving 2k3 licenses between machines.
     
  7. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    what's the difference if ALL the hardware in a pc DIED all of a sudden, and then i replaced it with better hardware

    vs.

    i got a new pc and want to move my OS to it


    NOTHING
     
  8. Elderain

    Elderain New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida, Clearwater
    you really cant just "move" it all, you have different drivers, different hardware, no wonder it doesnt work. Just get a new version, and do a clean install. Don't half ass it
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    that's kinda the point microsoft makes... There is little difference, so they prohibit both. The license that you agreed to upon signing (and subsequently using) the product statest that you cannot move the product to a different machine. That is the nature of the software. The motherboard must remain in a system upgrade for microsoft to recognize it as an "upgrade" and not just a "new system". So for all intents and purposes, in your scenario, it is a new system requiring a new license.
     
  10. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    FALSE. Only applies to OEM copies. Retail, SBS, Open, and Select can transfer from one machine to another.

    From the retail EULA:
    http://www.microsoft.com/about/legal/useterms/default.aspx
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    We do it all the time at work. What you have to do is run a full MSBackup operation, including the creation of an Automated System Restore disk, and then boot up from the Install CD on the new machine and use the ASR disk to rebuild the machine. It works great, and any hardware differences are compensated for by the basic Windows installation that the Install CD performs before it restores the backup.

    Though, in this case, this can't be done because the thread starter doesn't have the Install CD anymore. Pity.
     
  12. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    :crying:


    there's plenty of win2k3sp1 cds floating around the net, but none of the initial 'gold' release, which is what i need
     
  13. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    You're right and sysprep will allow it too, I believe but 2 out of every 100 people probably have any clue about making it work. :) The way you describe sounds much easier. Do you have a step by step on that process by chance or a URL?
     
  14. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    What kind of licenses do you have? Long shot I'm sure, but if it's open or select (i.e. not retail/OEM) then you can order a media pack for like $25 or so from your reseller.

    Also you can change the CD media type by altering the setupp.ini file in the i386 directory of the media. You would need to rip the to an iso (or other image, DO NOT JUST COPY THE FILES) and edit the iso to change the setupp.ini, then reburn the disk. As long as you are licensed for the product you should still be legal doing this (as you are allowed to backup the media and it's not digitally protected).

    The info on the setupp.ini and the PID can be found here: http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=889713

    Keep in mind that you can NOT transfer OEM 2003 server licenses to another machine. You must buy a new copy. Any other license should allow you to transfer it.

    I don't know for sure that this works with the eval media, but it's worth trying I guess
     
  15. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    it's a retail copy, origonal win2k3 before sp1, in a "whitebox" (i.e, not from a reseller or system builder) - so there shouldn't be any problem moving the OS from it to new hardware, exept for the fact that i still need the cd and no longer have it

    the system passes through WGA to do updates, so it's valid

    all i need is a source for the iso to either download or borrow from someone - don't need your keys or coa



    oh, and no, it won't work with 180d eval, i tried that already
     
  16. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    You tried changing the setupp.ini file to tell it that it is a retail copy or you just tried to install with it?
     
  17. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    edited the ini

    the files are different, since it has sp1 integrated, so it won't work
     
  18. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    exactly what i DON'T have, which is why i keep saying i need a copy of the origonal release of win2k3, i.e., "gold" edition so i can do a repair install
     
  19. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    That was my point. I'm going to check out that ASR link though and see what it's about.
     
  20. Mikey D

    Mikey D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    Jesus just google win2003 iso torrent and you'll find a bunch of hits if you just need a CD.
     
  21. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I don't think that was ever a concern, genius.
     
  22. Mikey D

    Mikey D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    Read the thread he states a few time he doesn't have the Win2k3 gold CD anymore. :ugh:
     
  23. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Gee, I wish we could ban Mikey D. Fucking dipshit asshat morAn.
     
  24. Mikey D

    Mikey D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    :rofl: I think you're at the top of the list for a ban :hsugh:
     
  25. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    if finding the gold cd was that easy do you think i'd be posting here?
     

Share This Page