Moving OS to a new HDD?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Vatoloco, Jul 20, 2007.

  1. Vatoloco

    Vatoloco In a pinch, though, you could jam it into someone'

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    86,251
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    @Vatoloco_OT
    I have a media server and the OS (WinXP) is currently on a 40gb drive and I want to swap it out with a 500GB which I'm going to partition into 20gb and 480gb (or whatever is left).

    I want to move the OS to that new 20 gig partition but I don't want to reinstall. Is it possible and what is the best way to do it?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    And you don't want to simply add the new drive into the computer and leave the OS alone because...?

    I use ghost... still.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  4. mrj

    mrj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc tpa sf
    Especially considering it's a media server (unless you mean a file server storing media that is NOT played directly off of the server) it is a horrible idea to put the OS AND the media on one harddrive.

    Constantly streaming media PLUS the OS running, will not only cut the HDD's life down it will bring down the systems entire performance.

    Keep the OS on that one harddrive, add the secondary.

    I've worked on more "media servers" then I care to remember (WMS). Typically high volume, direct streaming web/webcam/porn servers.

    But, if you don't want to listen, ghost or acronis image the OS and just restore it to that second harddrive.
     
  5. Vatoloco

    Vatoloco In a pinch, though, you could jam it into someone'

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    86,251
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    @Vatoloco_OT
    Yeah, I use it to stream movies, tv shows and music to 3 different xbox's around the house... plus I use it as a torrentwhore. It runs utorrent 24/7.

    I would love to keep the OS on its own hdd but I'm out of connections. It is an older machine with PATA only. I've got 4 drives in it already and so I'm out of space unless I add another controller. I'm not even sure I have a good enough PSU to do that though (FSP 450W).

    The 3 drives in it that I have all the videos/music stored on are only 320gigs, so maybe it is a better idea to start swapping them for 500's and then use the 320's for something else or sell them off?
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Acronis is a breeze, and also very fast.
     

Share This Page