Movie Editing Crew...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by verbal, May 16, 2008.

  1. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been wanting to start messing with editing movies. My PowerBook can't run iMovie '08 cause it isn't Intel or a G5. So I happened to acquire Final Cut Pro. I guess I should start with Express, but whatever.

    So, what are some good habits to get into when editing? When I capture footage from my camcorder, what's the best file format to save it in for when edit later?
     
  2. Jacen2141

    Jacen2141 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SC
    http://thepiratebay.org/tor/4127601/Lynda.com_-_Final_Cut_Pro_6_Essential_Editing

    http://thepiratebay.org/tor/4134969

    Those are awesome videos from www.lynda.com - this guy knows everything there is to know about Final Cut. You don't want iMovie 08 anyway. It's garbage compared to iMovie HD ver. 6 I believe. It's a very watered down editing software compared to it's predecessor. I would start with Express or jump right into Pro but be forewarned it's got a steep learning curve.

    When you capture footage it's going to save it as a project file - That's all you really need to know. Also, it's best to use a Firewire drive as a scratch disk on which to save/access your projects. It puts less strain on the editing software and allows one drive to run Final Cut and the other drive to access the clips that you're editing.

    I'm sure the other, more experienced editors will jump in (and I hope they do) because I'm still learning myself.
     
  3. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    No one else? C'mon.
     
  4. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    in for home made porn.....









    as long as it's not gay porn.
     
  5. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    it'll save as a quicktime...
    just leave the default settings (NTSC DV)
    hope you have enough free space, video chews through harddrives...
    if you can, plug in an external firewire drive and capture to that...
     
  6. Climbing Cracker

    Climbing Cracker I am the Devil. And I am here to do the Devil's w

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    23,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, Los Angeles, Nairobi
    You don't need to start with FCE. The actual editing software is no different between FCE and FCP, that I've noticed anyway. What you will have differently is a TON of additional post-production power with Color, Motion, DVD Pro, Soundtrack, LiveType(which comes with FCE). Like others have stated, get a HUGE external firewire drive, you'll need it.

    If you're in America, NTSC DV default settings are what you need. If outside the States, you need the PAL settings, whatever they are. I'd suggest getting onto Amazon.com and buying Diana Weynard's texts (including DVD) regarding your version of FCP. Google Final Cut Pro tutorials and go wild. Experiment a lot.

    Find a good workflow and stick to it, don't jump around with it, save everything in a central location, use a backup HD. KEEP YOUR RAW VIDEO!!!!!
     
  7. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    RAW as in the tapes? I've had a MiniDV cam for about 4 years now. I've gotten in the habit of keeping all the tapes and never overwriting them. Do you guys do this? Or, do you take all the video off a tape and save it to a file then overwrite?

    Since I've kept all the tapes, I've never cataloged any. I really need to. Any tips on properly cataloging tapes? Number system? Dates? Brief description of what's on it?
     
  8. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone have a link to video(s) they've edited? I'd like to see some work. :dunno:
     
  9. ProgWRX

    ProgWRX Citizen Dildo

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    description and tape number has worked for me :dunno:

    i cut my teeth using adobe premiere so i kinda keep coming back to it (cs3 on the mac) even though i have FCP. :hs:
     
  10. Jacen2141

    Jacen2141 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SC
    :o didn't realize you found out most of that info in the last thread. What else do you need to know?
     
  11. Climbing Cracker

    Climbing Cracker I am the Devil. And I am here to do the Devil's w

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    23,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, Los Angeles, Nairobi
    What I meant about saving raw footage, is keep in on the HD somewhere. Might come in handy, you never know! :big grin: Overwrite ONLY if you're sure you won't need the footage. Otherwise, I never overwrite. Always label the tapes too.
     
  12. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've edited two feature-length films. I can't imagine your computer being able to run fcp if it can't run imovie. FCP has a lot of features you won't know how or be able to use for a very long time, might as well stick with final cut express.

    my reel: (needs work)

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PhB06PQuQi0
     
  13. ProgWRX

    ProgWRX Citizen Dildo

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
  14. Kirk Hinrich

    Kirk Hinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brown Line
    is that like softcore porn?
     
  15. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    no, there's just a lot of girls in bikinis.
     
  16. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm currently doing a job for a customer of mine. She has a hard drive camcorder and doesn't know how to get the vids off it. After teaching her slowly and going over it a few times, she was still clueless. So she just gave me the camera to get the video off of it for her.

    I'm making her one DVD of the files, and one edited DVD so she can watch it on a TV. Only issue I'm having is the camera makes .MOD files. They're MPEG2 files. I found some info on how to convert them-- rename the extension to .mpeg and convert them with ffxmpeg. I also read that compressor can convert them and I tried it but it was on 6 minutes to convert a 29 second clip. Not sure if I used the right settings so I stopped it.

    About to try ffxmpeg now.
     
  17. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is express that much easier to use than Pro? I know my way around programs like that kinda but I know I won't know the advanced stuff.

    Just curious.
     
  18. Jacen2141

    Jacen2141 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SC
    no it's not easier. it's the same layout for editing...it just doesn't have the complete studio.
     
  19. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if I already have Pro, there's no point in switching to Express?

    I'd like to edit videos of my daughter, but it seems almost pointless since I only have one angle of video. Would be a lot more fun if I shot the same scene in multiple angles. :hs:
     
  20. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    So the best format to convert to for editing in FC is .DV? What are the specs on the .DV format? Is it raw or now?
     
  21. ProgWRX

    ProgWRX Citizen Dildo

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    you dont really need more "angles", just different shots and scenes that you can string together coherently or with music or whatever (depnding on what you are looking for)
     
  22. Jacen2141

    Jacen2141 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SC
    I don't think so. I have FCP 5.1 and also FCE. I am just now using Express bc it handles the Apple Intermediate Codec (ProRES 422) for HDV. And I've recently been shooting with a Canon HV20 so it demands that particular codec to transcode video in order to basically compress the HDV to DV size files when importing. That is how I understand it, at least....someone feel free to correct me. Anyway, that said I haven't made the jump to FCS 6 but will probably do that soon.

    I dont think that's pointless at all...if you're just shooting video of your daughter, like ProgWRX said, just get multiple angles and make a montage. It will get used to audio/video transitions, laying down audio tracks, shortcuts and more.
     
  23. ProgWRX

    ProgWRX Citizen Dildo

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    i wouldnt even worry about "angles". just try to compose different shots, always thinking of it as a photograph.

    for example, these shots are from the same "angle" but are composed differently thus you could edit them together into a sequence

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    same here, basically the same angle, just playing with the composition.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  24. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so I'm working on that thing for my client. I'm sure FC is overkill for this, but I'm just using it to play with FC. More on that later.

    If I double click a clip, it plays fine in the viewer. Audio and all. When I drag it in the timeline and click play on the canvas, I don't get any audio just a steady beep. Been playing with it for a half hour but I have no idea how to fix it.

    For this project, I have about 30 video files that I converted to .DV format. I need to put them on a DVD so it will play on any DVD player. I'd also like to make it so each video file is a chapter on the DVD instead of just one long movie. Any tips?
     
  25. Climbing Cracker

    Climbing Cracker I am the Devil. And I am here to do the Devil's w

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    23,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, Los Angeles, Nairobi
    Very :cool:

    What was this shot with? Couldn't quite see the musical artist at the end, who was that? :bowdown:
     

Share This Page