Mounting Network Drives

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bandwagon, Apr 23, 2006.

  1. bandwagon

    bandwagon Copy/Paste

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use network drives a lot (SAMBA server) and everytime I sleep it disconnects. Is there any way to remount the network share automatically as soon as I boot my computer or bring it back from sleep?
     
  2. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    You can try adding them to keychain. But I have yet to find a way to get my works G5 (running 10.3.9) to automatically connect & log into our networked drives.
     
  3. bandwagon

    bandwagon Copy/Paste

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Passwords are a non issue, I would just like to have it connect automatically. What about a folder action?
     
  4. jabbadeznuts

    jabbadeznuts ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PDX
    possible, but not from sleep. you can use automator to auto mount volumes on boot.
     
  5. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    automator app that you keep in dock? You might be able to build an apple script that upon wake launches the app, or even better mounts the drive.
     
  6. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    just press Apple+K and then hit connect, its not that hard...

    i just do that each time.
     
  7. bandwagon

    bandwagon Copy/Paste

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not that hard to just click on the link to my server, but if I have music in iTunes on a network share I have to make sure it is mounted or it wont play, etc.

    Its not about difficulty its about automating common tasks to make my life easier.
     
  8. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    well once you figure something out, post it up so i can use it too ;)
     
  9. Laserbeak

    Laserbeak Remember kids! Be like Billy! BEHAVE YOURSELVES!

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    22,911
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    WA
    :werd:, I have my users use an Applescript (saved as a run-only application) whenever they need to connect to a share. I use a custom icon to make it easy to recognize. If you want to go the Applescript route, here's what I did:

    1. Open /Applications/Applescript/Script Editor.
    2. Paste the following code into the Script Editor window.

    Code:
    tell application "Finder"
         open location "protocol://servername.domain.ext/share"
    end tell
    
    3. Obviously, you'll want to modify the address that's in quotes so that it matches your environment.

    Protocol can be either AFP, SMB, or whatever file protocol the server hosting the share is using. If the server is running Windows, odds are that it will use the SMB protocol, whereas a file server running OS X predominantly uses the AFP protocol.

    An example of servername.domain.ext is fileserv.company.local. Keep in mind that you can use the IP address of the file server as well if your network doesn't have an internal DNS server.

    Finally, share is the name of the share you want to connect to. Beware though, that AFP share names are case-sensitive.

    4. Select File -> Save As...
    5. Pick where you want to save this to, give it a name, and save it as an Application, and choose the option to Run Only.
    6. Go to where you saved this to, and drop its icon in the Dock.

    A couple of examples:

    If I want to connect to the C$ share on my brother's Windows computer upstairs, and his IP address is 10.0.1.2, I'd want to put smb://10.0.1.2/c$ in between the quotes.

    Alternatively, if I wanted to connect to my home directory on my work computer, I'd want to put afp://workcomputer.company.com/myusername in between the quotes.

    Hope that helps!
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2006
  10. bandwagon

    bandwagon Copy/Paste

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes that helps, but it still amounts to clicking on 'something' to mount it. Is there a script that is run each time the system wakes? Yes I am a lazy bastard.
     

Share This Page