SRS Motivation.

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by interpol, Mar 7, 2005.

1. interpol

interpol you can't spell basement without semen

Okay,

What do you guys do to get motivated?

With anything that I'm not incredibly passionate about, I find it extremely hard to get motivated. In school, I'd only get work done the night before - even in my final year I'd push the absolute limits as far as extending deadlines etc goes.

I worked in IT through school and thoroughly enjoyed it, but I stopped for my last year in school in an attempt to give myself more time to not do school work in. Now that I'm out of school, I'm trying to run my own web development business, but I'm finding it really hard to get my shit together.

What do you guys suggest I do to help myself?

2. Tensai81

Tensai81 OT Supporter

sounds like your life is run by deadlines, (waiting till the last min to do things) start setting your own deadlines before the actual one, example: if something needs to be done on Wednesday, have it completed by Tuesday. You can also do the whole reward/punish approach if you don't reach those deadlines. I went through the same thing when I was in High School, most of my homework was done in first period the day of. After I graduated college I made a pact with myself doing the reward/punish thing and it's worked out well.

3. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

Refrain from doing things that you aren't motivated to do. Do things that you are passionate about... and do them obsessively. You're young, and you can get on the responsibility track later. Pick something you love to do, and obsess over it for a few years.

4. interpol

Actually, I don't really have any deadlines now, which pretty much leads to nothing getting done. My timeframes I set with clients have generally been pretty flexible, and at the moment I want to get my site done but theres nobody 'cracking the whip' so to speak.

5. interpol