motherboard/processor question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by brodieman, Nov 12, 2007.

  1. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    hey all, I'm looking to upgrade my system (which is currently serving as a paperweight at my parents house) and was looking for a good mobo/cpu combination.

    I'm looking at the E6750 (http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16819115029) for a cpu, from what I've read around here and in the newegg reviews it's an all-around great processor, I just need the board to fit it.

    the one that I've got my eye on right now is the GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard (http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16813128059) which fits everything I need (not planning on going sli or anything like that). Has anyone gotten this board and have any advice or have another board that they recommend over it?
     
  2. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    also, my psu is dead (which is the main reason why my machine is inactive at home) does anyone have any suggestions for a good one that will be able to handle this? I have a geforce 7900GS card as well.

    edit: what is the best way to dispose of an old psu?
     
  3. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Motorola Q: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; Smartphone; 240x320) Opera 8.65 [en])

    I just bought that exact mobo and cpu. Ill tell you how it works wheb it comes in tomorrow hopefully.
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Big time +1 for Gigabyte.
     
  5. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    cool, thanks guys. G-MAC did you get a new psu with them as well or did you already have that?
     
  6. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Motorola Q: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; Smartphone; 240x320) Opera 8.65 [en])

    I bought a Corsair HX620 a few months ago so yeah it is pretty new.
     
  7. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    funny, I was just looking at that and the HX520 I believe.
     
  8. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    That's what I plan on buying when I get all my shit picked out. I also recently convinced my girlfriend to buy it when she was upgrading and so far she likes it (been about 1-2 months).
     
  9. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,087
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    204
    I've been running that board for just over a month in a second system at home, no complaints here.
     
  10. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    nice, thanks for the input guys, it looks like that is what I'll be grabbing
     
  11. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Corsair is really big on making sure their power supplies don't fail to impress.

    I was on an Abit forum recently, and a Corsair rep has a stickied thread there asking for

    people to post any problems they are having so that Corsair can get it worked out.


    :cool:
     
  12. Pet3R

    Pet3R Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use that mobo and cpu, and it runs great.
     
  13. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    great, i'm glad to hear that they are working out for you, hopefully i will get the same results
     
  14. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    I was looking at the processor and had a question.

    The processors (E6750 vs E6550) look the same besides the clock speed unless newegg is wrong.

    both have
    32KBx32KB L1
    4MB Shared L2
    1333Mhz FSB

    Wouldn't it be cheaper to just buy the E6550 and OC it to speeds of E6750? Or does it not OC well?
     
  15. Kelex

    Kelex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are the same except the multiplier.

    1333mhz FSB quad pumped (333 x 4)
    E6550 comes with 7. 333 x 7 = 2.33GHz stock speed
    E6750 comes with 8. 333 x 8 = 2.66GHz stock speed

    For OC,... the higher multiplier is a clear advantage.

    Example:

    let's say you managed to raised the FSB to 400mhz.
    E6550, 400 x 7 = 2.8GHz
    E6750, 400 x 8 = 3.2GHz
     
  16. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    ahh got ya. Thanks for the explanation.
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like my Corsair quite a bit. I haven't had to worry about whether it could supply stable power, and the modular cables are actually practical.

    (not that ThermalTake's modular power cables with huge metal housings and LED lights aren't also practical, of course...:rolleyes:)
     
  18. Kelex

    Kelex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    FYI to those who have the Corsair HX series, you can exchange your old 6-pin PCI-E modular cables to the new 6+2-pin PCI-E cables.

    Current retail stock comes standard with these cables already.

    Just email their support and ask.
    I believe you pay only shipping.
     
  19. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've had similar results with Antec.

    I've gotten everything from USB 2.0 headers, to drive cages all just for shipping.

    It'll be a sad day for me when they finally go to India for support.

    But right their support is in Cali, and it's great.
     
  20. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Motorola Q: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; Smartphone; 240x320) Opera 8.65 [en])

    I got that board and processor in, hooked it up, and it worked perfectly. The PC shuts down when you make changes in the BIOS which is pretty wierd but it turns right back on. I installed Vista Ultimate on it :coold:
     
  21. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,087
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    204


    My asus P5B does that too, freaked me out a bit the first couple of times.
     
  22. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    great, i'm going to grab them from newegg next friday, not sure if they will have some BF deals going on or not but I will wait and see....
     

Share This Page