Motherboard/CPU combo

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bigboostdsm, Jul 31, 2008.

  1. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    Hey guys, I'm looking into building a decent computer for school. I've pretty much decided on everything except the mobo/cpu. It needs to handle AutoCAD and a few other engineering programs very easily.

    I really have no idea where to start, there are just so many different combos to use. Any help is appreciated. I'd like to keep the price down as much as possible without sacrificing quality/speed/etc.
     
  2. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I'd do a Q6600. quadcore ftw.
     
  4. eideteker

    eideteker Who jarked off in my frakkin' coffee? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    Can't argue with that.
     
  5. BiGDoGGy4EvEr

    BiGDoGGy4EvEr Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    q9450 with rampage formula x48, over clock to 3.2ghs ur set
     
  6. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN

    Links?
     
  7. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
  8. 95vr4

    95vr4 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Weddington, NC
    I'm got to build me another desktop soon as well.

    Is it really worth the extra $ for the quad core over a high end dual? Also, how big of a difference does the bus speed make, if I'm using DDR2 800 ram, is that the bottleneck anyway?
     
  9. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    Wat?

    Make your own thread guy...I want my ansars
     
  10. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
  11. 95vr4

    95vr4 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Weddington, NC
    :hsugh: it's pretty much the exact same question.
     
  12. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    depends on the apps you use.
    rendering and other multi-threaded apps, go quad
    games, a faster dual core would be better

    overclock a quad to faster clocks, you get best of both worlds.

    DDR2 800 ram won't be a bottleneck
    http://forums.offtopic.com/showpost.php?p=102876810&postcount=45
     
  13. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
  14. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
  15. 95vr4

    95vr4 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Weddington, NC
    Thanks for the help :wavey:
     
  16. 95vr4

    95vr4 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Weddington, NC
  17. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
  18. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    It looked to me like that one did have eSATA :dunno: If you look in the extra pictures, I think the last picture shows what's included.

    What is the advantage to dual LAN?
     
  19. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
  20. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
  21. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    yeah, sorry, it does include an eSATA/firewire bracket.

    though still,... I prefer one built-in in the rear panel. like the P5Q-E (1 eSATA) and P5Q WS (which has 2 eSATA) models.
    imo, the advantage of that is that there are less cables inside the pc and saves me from using a PCI slot.

    again, it's a personal thing,... you probably won't care.

    same with the dual LAN. I use one for my intranet, the other for internet.
    probably useless to you.

    and yes, DDR2-800 will work fine. if a mobo states that DDR2-1200 is its standard, it means it can support that speed, and any DDR2 dimms below it.
     
  22. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    Awesome :bowdown:

    Thanks for the help. I'll be back when I figure out what exactly I'd like to get for OT's approval :mamoru:
     

Share This Page