Motherboard / chipset options V. Better deal?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by PlutoBHG, May 5, 2008.

  1. PlutoBHG

    PlutoBHG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there (Houston=home)
  2. aim2kill

    aim2kill New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    deployed.
    hotdog. om nom nom nom.
     
  3. PlutoBHG

    PlutoBHG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there (Houston=home)
    brat on a stick n00blet
     
  4. aim2kill

    aim2kill New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    deployed.
    plz. dont make me get up from my chair, walk all the way over to your desk, and proceed to stealz ur starbursts. no starburts ftl:noes:
     
  5. PlutoBHG

    PlutoBHG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there (Houston=home)
    they are your starbursts anyway, and i think half of my pile got eaten by head and you heh
     
  6. aim2kill

    aim2kill New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    deployed.
    damn head. damn. dont worrz, i got the hookup:hsd:
     
  7. PlutoBHG

    PlutoBHG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there (Houston=home)
    41 ounces worth~!
     
  8. aim2kill

    aim2kill New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    deployed.
    :werd: its nom nom delicious!:hsd:

    computer peeps kan shares if du wantz tuus! :fawk:
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    there is no AMD machine that beats an Intel machine when it comes to performance, now. Stick with intel.
     
  10. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    define 'better deal'
    AMD = cheaper
    Intel = faster
     
  11. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Go Intel... there really isn't much of a reason to go AMD anymore
     
  12. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i was going to do something like that, i ended up spending a little more for a c2d machine. i'm very very happy
     
  13. PlutoBHG

    PlutoBHG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there (Houston=home)
    Last edited: May 6, 2008
  14. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    waaayyy faster.

    that AMD chip you listed is competing against the E2220 or E4500 (priced around $90 to $100+).
    any model above that will be better.
    that E8400 is like at the top. the only chips faster than than is the E8500 and the Extreme cpus.
    imo, overkill for what you need. but hey, if you can afford it, why not?

    as for the mobo,.... mATX, HDMI required?
    i recommend this:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131237
     
  15. PlutoBHG

    PlutoBHG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there (Houston=home)
    i see, i will check if i can bump it down a bit i guess

    as for mobo, im planning on running lines to 2 different tv's so i was looking at this

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188021
     
  16. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    i'm not a fan of motherboards with nvidia chipsets. too buggy imo.
    but when it comes to integrated video = nvidia > intel

    btw, note that multi-display on that board can only be VGA and DVI or VGA and HDMI.
    Not DVI and HDMI.
     
  17. PlutoBHG

    PlutoBHG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there (Houston=home)
  18. PlutoBHG

    PlutoBHG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there (Houston=home)
    noted!

    if i buy a video card with HDMI (or DVI that i put dvi-hdmi converter on) later on as an addition, will that run audio through it as well?

    EDIT: nevermind i read there is a connection on the newer cards that will accept a SPDIF input (from the SPDIF output the mobo has) that will run through the HDMI adapter..........

    will both hdmi outs work and have audio on them?
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2008
  19. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
  20. PlutoBHG

    PlutoBHG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there (Houston=home)
    :rofl:

    well i decided to change my mind and just make it my gaming PC as well as the media box if i can
     
  21. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    HDMI outs of onboard graphics and add-on graphics card?
    you can't use both at the same time.

    usually, when an add-on card is detected, onboard graphics will be auto disabled.
    but there's this new thing called Hybrid Graphics present in 780G chipsets (that Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H board has it) and some of Nvidia's new chipsets. this Hybrid Graphics keeps the onboard enabled,... but the way they work is like a power saving feature. when it requires a lot of gpu processing power, like games, it uses the card. for normal stuff like web surfing, email,... it switches to onboard. not exactly what you need.

    and since you will game anyway,.. you are better off getting a graphics card. just get one that will support multi-monitors.


    read my posts here in aim2kill's thread
    http://forums.offtopic.com/showthread.php?t=3783139

    cliffs: E8400 > any AMD

    if you will do some video editing/encoding, consider Intel's Q6600 or their new quads. Still better than AMD's offerings.
     
  22. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Could I suggest something? Take it or leave it. Just letting you know.
    If you are building a media center PC on a budget there is a HP computer that is perfect for this. And it's cheap.

    Go to www.hardforum.com and search for HP slimline

    I got the HP Slimline s3300f. (there are many models both Intel and AMD)
    AMD 5000+
    500Gig HD
    Wireless card
    Integrated ethernet
    2 gigs of 5300 memory
    Has Integrated video :downthumb: so you will have to order a video card from newegg which will cost you 50$ (one that will do some gaming) There are better ones there.

    The clincher for me was it came with Vista Home Premium.

    Got it from www.ubid.com for 400$ (then got 75$ back because they listed the wrong specs for the computer in the auction :cool: )
    So 350$ out the door including shipping.

    I looked into building my own but no matter which way you look at it it is more expensive. The only way you can get a simi-comparable machine (relatively speaking... BYO is always better) is to build and then use MythBuntu as an OS (or Ubunto). The OS costing 90-160$ was the thing that made me go built.


    Just an FYI not trying to stir the waters. Carry on.

    edit: BTW, I chose this also as a media center PC because that's exactly what it is going to be. HTPC and that's it. So it will do no video editing etc. and doesn't need a heavy hitter CPU. If you need a PC that will do both HTPC stuff and work as your standalone then yea, build it.

    lataz
     
  23. PlutoBHG

    PlutoBHG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there (Houston=home)
  24. aim2kill

    aim2kill New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    deployed.
    hm, well doom your advice works for some, some for not :rofl:

    haha, thanks for e/t though:bigthumb:

    your pool of info is very helpful, and post deployment i will be making some threads requesting it :mamoru: (time in computer world=cooler shit):cool:
     
  25. aim2kill

    aim2kill New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    deployed.
    i've seen worse deals. spent about 200 on a 9600 or something and it would be pretty damn nice and reasonale machine for the money.
     

Share This Page