more lock-ups and overall "oddness" since i went intel

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by moses, Jul 13, 2006.

  1. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    is anyone else having these small issues also? Happens every once in awhile. and i've noticed it more since i went intel.

    :dunno:
     
  2. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    nope. 2 macbooks and a imac with 0 problems.
     
  3. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    iChat crashes once a week and iMovie crashed yesterday for the first time, i've had it for about a month and thats the only problem....i'm not sure what caused it.
     
  4. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. My MBP is not anywhere as stable as my iBook was. It never makes it through a whole day without a hard reboot, pretty much. :( I use it harder than most, though. I say it will take another year and some OS updates before the Intel macs get that stability we all got used to with the PowerPCs.
     
  5. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    no real problems on the macbook so far, knock on wood.
     
  6. lieu95accord

    lieu95accord OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL
    aim crashes a lot!
     
  7. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    yeah thats bc of rosetta. once they release an intel version you'll be all set.
     
  8. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    :eek3:
     
  9. MeanFiddler

    MeanFiddler The C.I.A. is Trying to Kill Me

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    The MacBook has been a bit odd lately - randomly sleeping, not returning from aforementioned sleep for a few minutes, and iPhoto crashing like a bitch.
     
  10. niquesuave06

    niquesuave06 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,549
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oklolhoma
    I've been having the same problems. Sometimes mine just crashes randomly :dunno:
     
  11. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    thats what i've noticed the most, is coming back from sleeping. sometimes if i plug up my cables (mouse & ethernet) at my desk is when it'll sometimes freak out and need a hard boot.
     
  12. RG

    RG New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28,233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    i turned mine on and the screen was black
     
  13. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    Have you guys who are having problems added your own memory? I gave it a module that it didn't like (correct specs) and it crashed all over the place. It was even Corsair i believe. Traded it for a different stick (forget what brand) and everything is fine. I even run a ton of development through Parallels and beat the hell out of this thing and can't crash it. The only thing that hangs sometimes is the MS Terminal service client, which I chalk up to being PowerPC and microsoft programming.
     
  14. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have corsair ram in here.
     
  15. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Doing the firmware and KB updates fixed the sleep issues I had.
     
  16. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still have occasional sleep issues.

    A nice new feature is the 'deep sleep,' though. When the battery totally dies instead of just shutting off it deep sleeps and then takes a little longer to unsleep, but it still does.
     
  17. Ebtromba

    Ebtromba Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    alexandria, VA
    hard reboot, as in unplugging and taking the battery out??

    damn.
     
  18. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hard reboot as in holding down reboot.
     
  19. Immortal1

    Immortal1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Masshole
    my imac seems fine. i don't like the whole no use of headphones in windows though. i'm goin back to school soon and late night sessions of DoD aren't looking too good :wtc:
     
  20. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    There should be a fix out for that soon.
     
  21. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Mine hasn't really had many software problems to speak of. However I had a completely bad battery. Took it to the Apple store where they replaced it for me no charge. The issue I had was that I would fully charge the battery and the computer would die within minutes or sooner and the battery would indicate it was dead. And yes I calibrated it.
     
  22. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 2GB of ram and do copies across LAN/webdav, and run multiple apps all day, and I do a hard reboot at least once a day. Finder locks in pinwheel. Firefox freezes. Fuck, everything freezes.

    You guys that don't are just babying your shit, I suspect.

    Intel Macs are UNSTABLE. About as bad as Windows 98. Seriously.
     
  23. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    So far my Intel iMac has been more stable than my PPC Powerbook was sans the cnn.com issue I was having a couple of days ago.
     
  24. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Your experience is not universal, as can be seen in this thread. I'm sure a lot of us here run multiple apps at once, and do intensive computing since this forum would attract that kind of user. However, I doubt most of us are doing hard reboots once a day. I think I've done one a single time since I've owned it (3 or 4 months now I think).

    It sounds to me that you either have an old revision with some firmware issues, or you're running unstable software that most people aren't. I rarely have anything freeze on me.

    Also, don't compare them to windows 98. Windows 98 was not that unstable, I think you're thinking of Windows ME which was horrible. Have you talked to Apple about your issues? It really sounds like you have a lemon.
     
  25. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    98 was about as unstable as this. Its not as bad as ME ;)

    I've got to take it in to fix a broken DVD anyway. I'll see about it then. But as the problem is usually associated with webdav/samba, and these are known problems, I doubt there is a fix. But I'll certainly see.
     

Share This Page