SRS moral dilemma at work

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by oakback, Aug 6, 2009.

1. oakback

oakback New Member

Part of my job entails getting rid of our old stuff, usually via donation to charities and non-profit organizations. Among a bunch of other junk, we have two large-ish items we need to get rid of, from our office in Jacksonville (I'm in Tallahassee, 3 hours away).

A guy 3 rungs above me (my boss's boss's boss, we'll call him Bob) is finagling things to have the items end up in his garage in Tallahassee. I've been doing what I do for 9 years, and I know all the possible ways of cheating the system, and Bob's doing one of them. It's obvious to me, and my direct supervisor.

I like to have a track record of being on the straight and narrow in my job, and I hate knowing that someone would get away with this under my watch, and letting it happen.

Additionally, it would be hard for me to prove without either following the guy that picks up the items to make sure he drops them at the charity, or somehow me visiting Bob's garage.

I never thought I would be a part of some bullshit like this, especially something so thinly veiled, Bob apparently has no tact in making something seem legit. I had originally arranged to have the items delivered to a children's group home (orphanage), but was told to cancel the delivery. My direct supervisor just keeps saying "oh, it'll come out eventually at the right time, he'll get his".

It makes me feel like crap, and angry that he can get away with this.

Details to support my suspicions, feel free to skip:
    I was in Jacksonville, getting rid of other junk, and could just as easily taken these two items to the children's home. He told me to cancel it, and that he would have them transferred to Tallahassee (waste of resources) to have them picked up by someone at "Charity A" that he knew. If Charity A didn't want it, the children's home could have it.