Monitor problem...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SickOfItAll, May 19, 2004.

  1. SickOfItAll

    SickOfItAll The Bartender

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    65,513
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I have a 15 in. LCD monitor from Gateway (can post the model # if anyone needs it) that went out last night. It still gets power and it can still detect a signal, but the screen won't come on. Any idea how simple a fix this will be? I'm hoping it's a broken trace or cap somewhere, but I won't have time to look at it til tomorrow.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Are you sure there is nothing wrong with the computer?
    I've seen a system not do anything because the RAM died and another were the mobo died.
    Either get your RAM checked out or see if you can find another monitor to try on that system or try the monitor on a different system.
     
  3. SickOfItAll

    SickOfItAll The Bartender

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    65,513
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Computer is fine, already replaced the monitor. Also retested the monitor on another machine and it did the same thing. Got power, recognized signal/no signal, but screen stayed dark.
     
  4. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Sounds like the monitor is fubar
    Time to either see if it can be repaired or just get a new one.
     
  5. SickOfItAll

    SickOfItAll The Bartender

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    65,513
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    well, repaired is what I was hoping to do - a cheap 15 in. LCD sounds great, but I was hoping someone might have an idea of what it is that's broke...
     

Share This Page