Modifying .ini files with a group policy

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 127.0.0.1, May 31, 2007.

1. 127.0.0.1

127.0.0.1 New Member

So i need to modify existing .ini files on about 200 machines (only one file, and really only one line of code in the file) The entire network is run with no local users on any of the machines, and the majority of options are set up through group policies already. This is something that I have never done before.

So in the .ini file, it is split up into sections.
    Code:
     [section1]
    attribute1=value1
    attribute2=value2
    I'm sure it has to be set up to search through the file, find the section name, then find the attribute name..and so on. But how does one go about doing this? would a vbs script be easiest..or some other option.

Thanks

by the way.

What the change that has to be done is as simple as this
    Code:
    location=\\server1\folder\username
    to
    Code:
    location=\\server2\folder\username
    Here's the deal. Since there aren't any local users (besides admins), I'm not sure if this .ini file is stored locally on a per user basis, or if they are stored server side as part of the user's personal settings (that is loaded when they log into any machine on the network that they have access to).

Making a .vbs script seems easiest. Since you can easily grab the windows username with a few lines of code, and pass the username to the line of code...but yeah. thanks for the help.

2. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

Hmm. All I've got is a partial solution: Make .VBS script, and insert a command into each user's "RunOnce" registry folder that will (surprise!) run that .VBS file once the next time they log in on each machine.

3. 5Gen_Prelude

5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

Is the .ini actually different for every person?

4. 127.0.0.1

127.0.0.1 New Member

All of them will be different.