Mobo/CPU Combo question...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Saks, Nov 6, 2008.

  1. Saks

    Saks Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5,758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Made my mind up on finally rebuilding my system somewhat.

    I am going to get a GIGABYTE GA-EP45-DS3L
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128345


    My question is will this motherboard support the newer 45nm CPU's?

    and if it doesnt all i would have to do is update the BIOS to allow it to support it?

    Would i be better off getting a C2D E7300
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115132

    Or a C2D E8200
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115038


    and im not looking into overclocking

     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    yes, that mobo will support 45nm
    E7XXX series doesn't support VT,... get the E8200
    why not overclock? it's easy and safe

    fyi,... Intel i7 (Nehalem) are expected to come out Nov 17.
     
  3. Saks

    Saks Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5,758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    what is VT?

    and whats the difference and $$$ of the Nehalem?
     
  4. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    VT = Virtualization Technology

    Nehalem is faster, better.
    the first ones out will be expensive of course, then the mainstream/cheaper CPUs will follow, probably Jan 2009,... plus price cuts for the current Intel CPUs.

    i just mentioned that out becomes of two things:
    1. if you are planning an upgrade path, you are pretty much stuck with what's out right now.
    that Gigabyte board uses LGA775, Nehalem uses a new socket, LGA1366
    so it won't be easy upgrading the cpu because you also need a new motherboard with that socket
    2. you can take advantage of any price cuts

    if both are non-issue, the E8200 w/ that Gigabyte board should be fine.
     
  5. Saks

    Saks Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5,758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    both arent an issue...

    i usually upgrade once every 2-3 years anyways...


    thanks for the help!
     
  6. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    What is the point of worrying about VT on a desktop computer?
     
  7. Saks

    Saks Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5,758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    wtf does VT do?


    or for a gaming pc
     
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    i'll skip the lecture
    if you don't know what is it for or what it does,... you probably won't need it.
    let's leave it at that

    nevertheless,.. at stock speeds, the E8200 is about 7% faster than the E7300 on most apps and games
     
  9. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    You don't need VT to run vm's, unless you plan to run 64-bit guests. Else 32-bit guests can be created will work perfectly fine.

    There are some optimizations in VT procs that will save cycles, but you won't notice a difference when the vm's are running on a laptop or desktop. The biggest bottle neck in this environment will be I/O.
     

Share This Page