A&P Mobile lighting/strobe setup suggestions...

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by tenplanescrashing, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have about $450 with a little bit of room for play to build a small mobile lighting setup. The setup needs to be fairly simple, mobile, and versatile (if possible) as it won't change much once setup.

    My initial thought was to start with this:
    (2) Vivitar 285HV (linky)
    WITH
    (2) Westcott softboxes (linky - undecided on this)
    (2) Impact Brackets (linky)
    (2) Impact 10ft Stands (linky)
    OR
    (1) Impact stand/bracket/umbrella kit (linky)
    AND
    (1) Set of Wireless triggers (receiver & transmitter) + additional receiver

    My subject matter will be people and that's why i think the softboxes will be better because I will need an even amount of light. My use of umbrellas is limited, and to be honest, I seem to be missing something because the shots always come out like crap. I prefer to bounce off walls when available (thats why I said versatile).

    Input?
     
  2. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    either one is fine. but to help solve the umbrella issue, was it a shoot thru or bounce?

    I'm willing to bet you had it too far away. You want your light just out of the frame. get in close
     
  3. wrong1

    wrong1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    I like umbrellas because they are cheap, and easy to set up\break down. They suck if there's any wind though.
     
  4. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    i would trade out the 285s for some chinese jobbies on ebay the 460-II. they have optical slave, as well as pre-trigger optical slave(doesnt get tricked by ttl pre flash) and they are more powerful and more adjustable then 285s. plus are smaller and lighter. and will accept modifiers meant for sb800/600. They are 58 bucks shipped on ebay
     
  5. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used a shoot through and it was about 5 feet away from the subject just off camera right. I dialed in many different settings and nothing was working. I turned the strobe around, fired it at the white wall at full power, got the exact shot i was looking for.

    How reliable are they? I guess i should have included that in my original post...I have to have reliability. If it's $40 more for the vivitars and they come with a warranty, i'll spend more.
     
  6. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    i got my pair for less than $40 each shipped. do a search for yn-460. :h5:
     
  7. The Cable Guy

    The Cable Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rowland Heights, CA
    :werd:

    The YN460 is super cheap and awesome for the price. Max power is about 1/2 power on an sb600. I was only able to get it to 5/7 power on that thing on slave mode, otherwise it wouldn't fire correctly. I sold it because that thing ate batteries because there was no standby mode, so it would keep refilling the capacitors every other second.
     
  8. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    I have a pair of the YN-460 (not II) and they're pretty reliable. They cycle fast and haven't misfired...the optical slave is key, too.
     
  9. The Cable Guy

    The Cable Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rowland Heights, CA
    Yeah definitely. I've gotten it to work with Nikon's CLS (triggered from SB600) before my wireless triggers came in.
     
  10. AbortionSurvivor

    AbortionSurvivor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nor. Cal
    the yn-460 has a pc sync port?
     
  11. The Cable Guy

    The Cable Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rowland Heights, CA
    It doesn't but it has two slave modes you can use to fire the unit with onboard flash, or off camera flash that does have a PC sync port.
     
  12. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,118
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    east coast
    Invest in a light meter. Problem solved.
     
  13. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    never used one, but even if it doesn't, a $16 nikon as-15 hot shoe to pc adapter will trigger any flash
     
  14. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    but what was the umbrella doing that wasn't allowing me to get that shot? again, I adjusted camera + strobe several different ways and the strobe was connected via pc sync (it's all i had) and couldn't get what I wanted. turned around, bounced off wall and it was perfect. :dunno:
     
  15. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,118
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    east coast
    post up some examples and maybe we can help figure out the problem.
     
  16. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Damn...I no longer have any. I had it tethered to my laptop and I've since cleaned it all out. Let's just put it this way...it was like it was diffusing the light too much causing everything to be underexposed. Even with the camera at 1/60 and f/4 and strobe at full power, it wasn't doing well. And it is just a white shoot through umbrella.
     
  17. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,118
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    east coast
    That sounds like an issue with the strobe, or more likely, the ettl setting. At 4-5 feet and full power, even shooting thru an umbrella, you should have more than enough power for a proper exposure.
     

Share This Page