A&P Mobile lighting setup for shooting cars

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by fallenauthority, Jan 10, 2010.

1. fallenauthority

fallenauthority OT Supporter

I was reading pechango's post and found he was looking for lighting for people, i know some differences apply when shooting vehicles due to harsh reflections off the paint and such so I am looking for help getting together stuff to do a mobile lighting setup. Ive been looking on adorama and there is SO much different lighting equipment it makes my head spin. I already have a 430exII and was thinking about picking up another 430exII, a couple umbrellas that have the black cover so i can do bounce off them or shoot through and a wireless trigger set with an extra receiver. I guess my biggest question is that I have seen a bunch of different stands and i dont know if my flashes would connect on the top of the stand and be able to use a wireless receiver. I am new to this stuff so I am terrified of spending a few hundred bucks only to find out I bought the wrong shit. Thanks for any help. :bigthumb:

2. Derrict

Derrict No, I am not Amish OT Supporter

3. fallenauthority

So far Ive got this:
    Light stands, umbrellas and adapters: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/475575-REG/Impact__Digital_Flash_Umbrella_Mount.html
    Hot shoe to pc adapters: http://www.flashzebra.com/hotshoes-shoes/0065.shtml
    Another 430EXII, and a cactus V2 transceiver and 2 receivers to which I will do the antenna mod and battery mod.
    I am going to mess around with the small umbrellas that come with the kit and if not satisfied I will move to larger ones. This should be good for an initial setup correct?

4. Derrict

You won't need diffusers for shooting cars.

5. fallenauthority

Really? I thought you wanted to soften the light so as not to cause sharp reflections of the flash on the car?

6. Derrict