Mobil 1 oil filters :down:

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by Uflathead, Oct 28, 2002.

1. Uflathead

Uflathead Guest

Beware, they are junk in my opinion. I've been using Mobil 1 oil for over 10 years and swear up and down by it, it's the only oil I use. Their filters are something else. Last night I changed my oil and instead of using my usual Fram filter I decided to try a Mobil 1 filter, verified by me, salesperson (and backed up by Mobil catalog) at time of purchase to be exact replacement for my normal Fram PH3980. I changed the oil, filter, made sure everything was tight and then dumped in the normal 6 quarts of oil like I have numerous other times. I started up the car after I was done cleaning to go to the grocery store and within 1/2 mile the oil light came on, thankfully it happened right by a convenience store. I checked the dipstick and it was not even on the 'stick. I grabbed a towel from the trunk and got under the front end so I could see if maybe the drain plug was loose (even though I was absolutley positive I'd tightened it) and it was fine. I reached up where the filter is supposed to be and it was GONE!

Somewhere between my house and 1/2 mile later the oil filter blew completely off of the mounting pad (and I know without doubt it was tight because I checked it two times before I dropped the car off of the jackstands) causing my engine to puke nearly 6 quarts of BRAND NEW Mobil 1 synthetic oil all over the road. I normally keep an extra quart or two of oil in the trunk and a spare filter (Fram) just in case of an emergency, thank God I did this time. I put on the spare filter, dumped in 5 quarts of cheap oil I'd just bought and fired it up, everything was fine. On the way home I saw the Mobil 1 filter laying up against the curb so I stopped and picked it up. It looks in excellent condition except for a couple scratches from sliding down the road at 35mph.