mmmmmm just ordered 8 gigs of ram for my mac pro for a total of 10 gigs

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by LOUDSYSTEM, Jan 24, 2008.

  1. LOUDSYSTEM

    LOUDSYSTEM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    68,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    its going to be so sexy :o
     
  2. LOUDSYSTEM

    LOUDSYSTEM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    68,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    and my other dell 30 will be here soon :noes:

    dual 30s :noes:
     
  3. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    high end son
     
  4. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    whatre the blacks like on them dells
     
  5. vansamirin

    vansamirin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate ny
    what are you doing where you need that much RAM?
     
  6. doublemeat

    doublemeat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    14,524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inside Loop 410
    pix then post
     
  7. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Are you getting a 3008? I'd be interested in your feed back on it if you are.
     
  8. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    .
     
  9. LOUDSYSTEM

    LOUDSYSTEM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    68,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    i will always have vmware fusion running xp which semi ram hungry programs and want to be able to beat the shit out of the OSX side :o
     
  10. LOUDSYSTEM

    LOUDSYSTEM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    68,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    the 3007 is what i have now so ill just get another one of those.

    all it would be used for is for computer work.. i have a tv for watching movies and tv etc
     
  11. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    :rofl:

    Overkill.


    But, okay.

    Enjoy.
     
  12. mad_vtak

    mad_vtak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memfrica
    :werd: unless your running that same shit they had in that movie deja vu where they can look back 3.5(?) days ago.
     
  13. LOUDSYSTEM

    LOUDSYSTEM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    68,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    :naughty:
     
  14. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I've got 5gb in mine and I haven't even come close to using it all yet. :o
    Even with photoshop cs3, lightroom, dreamweaver, itunes, safari, ical, mail, word, transmission and probably a few other things the most I saw was like 2.5 gb used. :o
     
  15. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    I'm gonna have to disagree. I have a number of friends that do video production (Scooby Doo 2, Team America and other movies) and they can kill 8GB of RAM with ease. My boss kills the 4GB in his MBP with ease. Compiling an application that's over a million lines of code while having Safari open, Photoshop, and a number of other general apps can do it quick. Heck, Safari and it's memory leaks can eat it up alone.
     
  16. deesee22

    deesee22 Habs Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    13,626
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Canada
    Damn thats alot of RAM....

    Unrelated, but is Control4 coming out with some sort of Media Management for OS X? Im trying to sell my parents on Control4 for their new place, but they are pretty computer-retarded and I don't think they would ever figure out running Fusion and XP just to load CD's.
     
  17. LOUDSYSTEM

    LOUDSYSTEM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    68,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    its funny you ask.. i am working hard to have an OSX media app done very very soon :)
     
  18. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    Maybe, maybe not...I regularly pageout my G5 with 5.5 and that's only feeding 2 cores with render threads. My 4 way mac pro at work was problematic at 6 quite often...I'd have to throttle rendering to 2-3 threads to keep it usable. 8-10+ is easily usable with a lot of apps :dunno:
     
  19. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    Break out After Effects :wtc:
     
  20. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Not if you don't use it. More memory doesn't make a system faster unless you are using software that can utilize it, and thus preventing using the hard drive. My wife has 4Gb in her MP and never uses that much, I can utilize more than 2GB per core with what I do (can't afford to though :wtc:).
     
  21. Specious

    Specious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm assuming everyone in this thread is a Mac Pro owner or is quite familiar with the machine. Has anyone seen a lot of problems reported with the new Harpertown around the web? I switched not long ago and recently placed an order for a 2.8 standard but the early batch seems to be plagued with a lot of little things like sleep/restart problems, Bluetooth, Safari seizing up, etc.

    Over at Macrumors, they compiled a poll and about 1/5th of owners have some kind of problem. Pretty pathetic for Apple. My MBP is flawless in the year that I have owned it.

    Hey Loudsystem, did you order it from OWC or another 3rd party vendor or did you splurge on Apple ram? I know you have a taste for expensive things so who knows?
     
  22. mondaynightmike

    mondaynightmike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    117,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DEFINITELY No *Unlinked* Cock Pics
    1gb does me just fine thanks
     
  23. LOUDSYSTEM

    LOUDSYSTEM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    68,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    OWC is where i ordered from
     
  24. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    :eek3:
     
  25. inamorata

    inamorata New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    23,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    no one except pixar and ilm need that much ram
     

Share This Page