MMA crew....Help!

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by WholeFnShow, Mar 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WholeFnShow

WholeFnShow Guest

Looking for information regarding descent MMA schools in my area (Phoenix). If you have any links, referrals or know someone who trains out this way & can pass that info along to me it'd be appreciated. Not picky about what the school teaches, but I'd like to get some training in BJJ. Thanks in advance!

--Larry

2. JordanClarkson

JordanClarkson OT Supporter

yp.gte.net or check out the forums on fightingarts.com

3. korrupshun

korrupshun New Member

my schools parent school is up there (team megaton), fyi he trains jenna jameson :naughty:

http://www.teammegaton.net/

EDIT: note that he is directly under Royler Gracie

4. WholeFnShow

WholeFnShow Guest

I actually found that via a google search. Looks like a good school, but should I start w/training in BJJ being that I have no background, or should I start training in something else (I.E. boxing) first and work my way through (and yes I know we're talking about standup vs. grabbling/submission).

5. JordanClarkson

JordanClarkson OT Supporter

you can do both at once if the school offers both.

6. tenmeikanoh

tenmeikanoh New Member

I trained for a short while under Jack McVicker (www.jackmcvicker.com) in college. It was pretty good, and he's associated with Megaton. Don't know if this says anything about Megaton's school, but I thought I'd mention it...

7. illmatix

illmatix Diamond Studded Member OT Supporter

8. WholeFnShow

WholeFnShow Guest

Thanks for the info guys. I'll be exploring my options in the next few months.

9. korrupshun

korrupshun New Member